We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Culbone

The Culbone
A39, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8JW, England
01643 862259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 restaurants in Porlock
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Relax and unwind while you enjoy the stunning views from our peaceful bedrooms, and outside dining area. The seasonal views of the Valley and Moors are breathtaking (the coastal mist adds real magic to the landscape). Lush green in the spring and summer and full of character and action in autumn and winter. Partridge, pheasant and deer are our companions in the milder months. Staying at The Culbone is a great way to experience life on Exmoor.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having visited the Culbone `a few times` I am still amazed at the consistent HIGH STANDARD. Last week I stayed with friends and despite the restaurant being full to the gunnels, every effort was made to accomodate us for lunch ( I had failed to make a prior booking, it`s an age thing) We ate a superb lunch and with the outstanding friendliness of all at The Culbone had a marvellous 3 day stay. There was a theme night (Spanish) on the Tuesday and the food was `to die for`. I would like to thank: Mark, Lesley, Tony, Jake, Jack, Nina, Jakob, Norbert and George, also the young lady who`s name I forget (age again). Well done and in the vernacular "Proper Job"

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

I've passed on your comments to all the team. Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    106
    50
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, nice room & dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed & eaten at the Culbone three times now and have been impressed every time, the pub / restaurant and accommodation is dog friendly which is a must for me, the staff are excellent, a real credit. Food has been great every time I have eaten there, I look forward to trying one of the theme nights in the future, the location is great for walking the dog (although my spaniel goes nuts with all the pheasants at this time of year!!) I liked the new touches in the accommodation - some funny dog books, and a basket in the shower room with body washes & shampoo etc (not just the tiny little ones but big bottles). Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.

We look forward to seeing you and your spaniel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the culbone with friends to celebrate a birthday and foun the culbone to be the most perfect choice of venue. Our room was wonderful, spotless and had a wonderful view. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable both about the local area and the local food. The most incredible part o our weekend was the amazing food. Delicious red mullet with Harissa was a highlight as we're the pitted shrimps. Walking in the area both from the carpark an down in porlock offered superb scenery.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear 3l3anor,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. This makes all the hard work of the team really worthwhile.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best

MARK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Everything we ate was very good.Only criticism was that the fish (fried whiting) was rather small. A bit of a long, dark drive late at night from Porlock but not hard to find and worth the journey. Pleasant, welcoming service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Maddalex

We're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us (did the team point out that there are 2 sized portions available for the Whiting?).

Hopefully we will see you again to ensure that we fully meet your expectations

Warm Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went on a theme night and waited 45 minutes between each course. Some people appeared to be served food which was not on the menu. Food served on cold plates. Perhaps chef should concentrate on the core job and not try to be doing too much like cookery classes etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Andrew,

We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss your visit in more detail, to help us to improve our business.

Would you mind calling me on 01643 862259 or email mark@pipspubs.com

I hope to speak with you soon

Yours Sincerely

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culbone also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Culbone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.