We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Somerest B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amberton Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amberton Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Amberton Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Mill Lane, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winscombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Somerest B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked this B+B after reading the reviews...did not disappoint. Really clean and friendly. Had a lovely quiet room with a sea view from the balcony. Great way to have breakfast here, so relaxed and with the added bonus of freshly made bread. Great base for some spectacular walks. Wendy makes you feel so welcome and has put in a lot of thought to ensure you have an excellent stay. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in Porlock. The room was very comfy and breakfast was great! Wendy was helpful and made us feel very welcome. Great location for getting out on the mountain bikes. We will definitely be returning again soon

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a superb B&B. Its situation on the edge of Porlock is ideal for exploring Exmoor and the views from the decking towards Bossington Hill and the sea are lovely. My room (Hawcombe) was spacious, tastefully furnished and the fact that it had a sink, fridge and microwave meant I could eat here in the (rather damp!) evenings when I just wanted to unwind in peace (Recommendation: try Costcutter in Porlock for Big Red Cow ready meals made by an award-winning local farmer). Wendy is a wonderful host and went out of her way to make me feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This a great B&B, the room was very comfortable and the balcony is great for sitting out and taking the evening/morning air. A sink, microwave and fridge were provided within the room together with a plentiful supply of teas and coffee. Breakfast is continental, but plentiful with a wide selection to choose from. The house is far enough away from the town centre to be quiet, but close enough to easily walk to the pubs/restaurants. Wendy was very friendly and made us feel at home, without being in any way intrusive. This B&B provided a great base for our walking trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked this B&B after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor - we were not disappointed. Wendy made us feel very welcome and the location is excellent for exploring the area both on foot and by car.
The accommodation is first class, we cannot fault anything. Wendy has paid great attention in providing items that would not usually be thought of in this type of accommodation e.g. torches, walking guides and a plentiful supply of tea/coffee and biscuits.
Breakfast was superb, although it is a continental style breakfast, there is a varied selection to choose from and was more than sufficient for a days walking.
We plan to return in the future to explore the area further.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stay in quite a lot of B&Bs and this is one of the nicest we have stayed in. Wendy has thought of everything, down to torches for walking back from the village at night, to hot water bottles for cold evenings. We stayed in the Bossington room and the little balcony was a perfect spot for breakfast or star gazing at night. Having the microwave, sink, and fridge made everything easy, and the 'continental' breakfast provided plenty to eat so we didn't miss cooked breakfasts at all. Wendy is friendly and helpful and discreet and a lovely host. Yes Amberton is on a hillside so be prepared for a little walk up / narrow drive up, but that's what gives you the views. Thank you Wendy for a wonderful short holiday and we hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The Bossington room balcony is more private than the other one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a short break in late August 2013 in the Bossington room.

Wendy gave a very warm welcome and made us feel at home, took breakfast orders and left us to enjoy our time.

The room was great, very clean and well provisioned, from little wire kitchen-ties to a decent large bread board, you can tell feedback and their own experience have ensured that there is everything you need to be very comfortable here.

The bed had excellent quality bedding including a memory foam mattress, everything was crisp and clean and I slept very well.

The balcony was a very welcome feature, allowing me to while away a few early morning hours looking out to sea while the village slowly woke up.

The bathroom was also immaculate and the shower was enough to enliven even the sleepiest of heads. Notably this was the first hotel/b&b shower in quite some time that I hasn't scalded or frozen me in equal measure while trying to get the temperature right, which was very welcome.

The breakfast was amazing, we went for white and brown loaves of bread, presumably baked in house and was like baked heaven. The fridge down the hall was well stocked with butter, jams and other bread bits. Also a good selection of yoghurts and cereals are available.

All in all, a joy to stay in. A perfect location for either walking in Porlock/Exmoor, meandering around the village or just sitting on your balcony and watching the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amberton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Bed and Breakfast

Address: Mill Lane, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amberton Bed And Breakfast Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amberton Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.