We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Save
You added Myrtle Cottage to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
Twyning, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

From the moment the front door opened into Myrtle Cottage, we knew that this was going to be a perfect place to stay.

Janet and Nigel are wonderful hosts, and they could not have been more welcoming and accommodating to us and our small dog at very short notice on a very wet January night.

Our room was lovely and warm. Fresh milk for a cup of tea. A welcome pack for our dog. Off street parking.

Breakfast was first class.

We would have stayed longer if we could. Thanks again and we all hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
63
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Myrtle Cottage never ceases to please! Have just spent another great break with Nigel & Janet who are such brilliant hosts. Always made to feel welcome and the friendly atmosphere makes the stay so enjoyable. Looking forward to our next visit - it's one of those places to stay that you just want to go back to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Spent a wonderful weekend at Myrtle Cottage. Janet and Nigel were wonderful hosts made me feel at home the minute I walked in the door. The Cottage was spotless and the bedroom of an excellent standard and beautifully presented. Will definitely return again hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croxley Green, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

It was first visit to myrtle cottage in Porlock and definately not my last. A fabulous cottage with so much character, the owners Janet & Nigel made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Our 6 year old daughter enjoyed her stay too and didn't want to come home.

Room Tip: We had the family room at the top of the cottage, very comfortable, spacious and full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have recently enjoyed another two night stay at this fantastic venue. Myrtle Cottage has become our B&B of choice when looking to explore this part of the country. Our hosts are very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is superb. In fact, much of the produce for the breakfast is sourced from within the village. We're already planning our holidays for 2014 and will be definitely be making a return trip to Porlock.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nigel & Janet who run Myrtle Cottage could not have been more helpful, They advised of walks nearby and lent us their own maps, they also recommended local establishments for dinner which were excellent

The accommodation was spotlessly clean and tidy, they have spent a lot of time and effort since they took over Myrtle cottage.
Nigel's breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.
We look forward to staying again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Another lovely weekend has been spent at Myrtle Cottage. Janet and Nigel are so welcoming as hosts and the breakfasts are the perfect start to the day.
The cottage is beautiful and the beds have the comfiest pillows. Will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Address: High Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtle Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.