We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Save
You added Myrtle Cottage to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were the first visitors to stay at Myrtle Cottage with its new owners, Janet and Nigel, who were very friendly and helpful. It was a lovely cottage and everything was delightful, including breakfast. Pubs nearby for evening meals. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
63
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nigel & Janet have very recently taken over this B&B and are working hard to bring it up to 4 star standard. As hosts you won't find better - a very friendly welcome including the offer of tea after a long and tiring drive. The cottage is a delight - quaint and cosy under its thatched roof. A generous full English breakfast cooked to order was an ideal start to tackling the hike from Porlock to Lynmouth along the South West Coast path - legs are still aching ! Porlock is an interesting and delightful centre for walking and touring the Exmoor area. Plenty of excellent eating places within a few steps for the evening meal was a real bonus. Thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We rocked up and booked a room here last minute, Sue was most accommodating and let us view the room before committing to staying. She talked us through everything and then left us to it, we felt we had great privacy here.

Our room was cosy, small bathroom but that goes with the type of building it is, and if you dont mind cosy this would be a great place to stay. Fab for the money, just £55 for our double ensuite room and breakfast which was lovely and Sue was very kind to remake me some toast after I requested it be toasted more!

I have no qualms about recommending this delightful cottage as a comfy place to stay while you explore Porlock and neighbouring beauty spots.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a fabulous characterful thatched cottage right in the hub of the village! The hosts were delightful, beds very comfortable - and a very delicious breakfast !! x

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My fiancée and I spent 2 nights at Myrtle Cottage after reading the good reviews from this website.

Unfortunately, our experiences were not what we had hoped for and, were it not for it being a busy Bank Holiday weekend, we would most certainly have sought alternative accommodation.

One reviewer indicated that the hosts were not overly intrusive. Neither of us was able to engage the gentleman in any conversation whilst his wife was quite happy to offer guests 5 year out of date condiments and then throw her hands in the air because I had the audacity to mention it!

The breakfast was generous – the sausages particularly tasty! – and the lady of the house did provide us with some good suggestions for a coastal walk.

Our room carpet was grubby, the mattress should have been thrown out a long time ago and the fitted sheet ... didn’t any longer.

For the plus points; the building is fantastic and the chosen room, though difficult to navigate, was charming.

We weren’t going to let these issues ruin our short break but sadly I cannot recommend this establishment to others.

P.S. Porlock and Porlock Weir are absolutely beutiful places and this area is somewhere we'll definitely re-visit.

Room Tip: Best advice choosing a room is to try an alternative B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel S, Owner at Myrtle Cottage, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The ownership of Myrtle Cottage has changed hands since this reveiew.

As the new owners (since October 2012) we can assure you that your stay with us would be very different.

Please see Trip Advisor comments made since October 2012 when we took over which should reassure you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Myrtle Cottage with our 2 kids for 3 nights in room 5 just under the eaves. The cottage has a really homey feeling and the hosts were ever ready to help us without being intrusive at all. Really comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, we all enjoyed the time spent there and would definitely recommend a stay at Myrtle cottage (not for giants though!). Porlock seems to be the best place for a visit around Exmoor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

At Myrtle Cottage we received an excellent level of hospitality without any suffocating attention. Our hosts were unobtrusive yet ever ready to help when we needed it. They had an excellent knowledge of the area and a very well-stocked array of pamphlets and maps for a multitude of local holiday activities for all ages. The cottage is cosy and one room is tucked under the eaves (mind your head!), another up a quirky staircase. The rooms are well-equipped and immaculately clean. Hot water was plentiful. We enjoyed the delicious and robust full English breakfast and found our dinners at one of several restaurants just a short stroll down the main street. Myrtle Cottage is very conveniently located in the heart of Porlock and within easy walking distance of the sea and coastal paths.

Room Tip: If you're tall, you might want to avoid the little room under the eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Address: High Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtle Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.