We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overstream, Porlock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overstream

Overstream
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Overstream to your Saves list
Overstream
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parsons Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overstream, Porlock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Porlock is a very picturesque village that is well worth a visit. The owners recommended an evening stroll up the valley behind the B&B that had lovely views. Nick and Maggie are great hosts, they made us feel at home and on arrival bought us a cup of tea out in the garden. We had a comfortable nights stay in our room upstairs overlooking the village. The village was very colourful with the bunting out for the Diamond Jubilee and the passing of the Olympic Torch. The ensuite shower however unit is cramped - unless you are small. The breakfast was magnificent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamunda, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at Overstream for one night during our month-long self drive of England. One day we hope to return and make it our headquarters for a longer stay. We enjoyed a bright and spacious ensuite room with views of the church and village. The room is well appointed with all the facilities necessary for a comfortable stay: plenty of storage, wifi internet connection and a desk, comfortable seating, hospitality tray, extremely comfortable bed, good lighting. We were served a substantial and tasty breakfast in the pleasant dining room by our very kindly host. We were not at Overstream long enough to make use of the inviting Sitting Room - maybe the next time. For the short time we were in the area we took a walk through the National Trust villages of Bossington and Selworthy on the Holnicote Estate - recomend it. We went down to Porlock Weir for dinner at the Ship - quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Looking for a lovely place to stay? then make this the one, its a fantastic place lots of walks, sea, food and pubs. Nick and Maggie are great hosts and very informative on the area, you must go to Porlock weir and have a drink in the Ship, take the toll roads they are worth the small charge, walk around the quant village of Bossington with the lovely cottages and their round bread ovens. Walk across the stream up to the old cost guard look out, you will see the most amazing views across to Wales.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a very comfortable and relaxing stay at the Overstream, with a delicious wholesome cooked breakfast to start off the day. Also the cream teas served in the garden are a must (skip lunch elsewhere if you feel the food intake may be too much). We were given an immaculate, spacious double room with extra bed for our 4 year old daughter and nothing was too much trouble for hosts Nick and Maggie. Even the weather stayed dry for the couple of days we were there....

Many thanks and we look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend and wish it could have been longer. Could not find fault with anything. Excellent all round service and Nick and Maggie were superb. Always on hand for any advice and great knowledge of the area. Their cream tea is a must as are the home made cakes. The room was spotless. We intend to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

So you want to stay in Porlock.....and you've come on here to find a great place to stay? LOOK NO FURTHER!!!
We normally camp, but we were being baptised in the local church, where we are due to marry later this year. We recommended the Overstream to our wedding guests due to it's location. However we thought we'd treat ourselves to a couple of nights in a b/b.
It was fabulous!!! Nick and Maggie are wonderful, friendly, informative hosts and literally nothing is to much when you ask.
Room spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious- it was lovely as our room faced the church clock.....which we found quite romantic when it chimed! Great selection of local tea, fairtrade coffee, and other flavoured teas +biscuits which are replenished daily.

Breakfast was scrumpcious....everything is catered for. cereals, fresh fruit, greek yoghurt, even prunes! full english....which was a nice size. (BACON, SAUSAGE, EGG, MUSHROOMS, GRILLED TOMATO, BEANS, HASH BROWN, FRIED BREAD AND TOAST) THERE WERE HOMEMADE MARMALADES, TEA, COFFEE, FRIUT JUICES and you can choose to only have a bacon butty if it suits you.

There is a little bar area in the lounge if you want to have a drink before going out or you want to stay in.

2nd June 2012, we thought we try a cream tea here as in the summer they do cream teas. We have never had such delicious scones....EVER. and we love cream teas! We also took a couple of slices of Maggies homemade stem ginger cake. It was lushious!
You wont find a better cream tea in Porlock.....Promise! we have tried them all and they are nice but Maggies scones n cakes knock spots off them.
Nick and Maggie are genuinely kind hosts....not fake and pretencious.

WE WILL DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN!!! AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE OVERSTREAM.

Room Tip: Spacious room.....facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you are looking for value for money then this is it. We hadn't prebooked but the owners made us very welcome. The room (we opted for sea view) had everything we needed and in good supply. There was a also a good selection for breakfast which included a beautifully cooked breakfast.
There is only one negative which is when you leave the hotel they ask you hang your room key inside the kitchen door while you're out & collect it when you're back. We came back to find other keys available but no-one there so perhaps if you had valuables you may not be entirely comfortable with this arrangement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstream, Owner at Overstream, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding the keys, we have never experienced any problems and as we live on the premises one of us is always here.
However, we can understand why you raised this and we are currently looking at ways we can address it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Address: Parsons Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overstream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.