We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overstream

Overstream
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Overstream to your Saves list
Overstream
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parsons Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend and wish it could have been longer. Could not find fault with anything. Excellent all round service and Nick and Maggie were superb. Always on hand for any advice and great knowledge of the area. Their cream tea is a must as are the home made cakes. The room was spotless. We intend to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

So you want to stay in Porlock.....and you've come on here to find a great place to stay? LOOK NO FURTHER!!!
We normally camp, but we were being baptised in the local church, where we are due to marry later this year. We recommended the Overstream to our wedding guests due to it's location. However we thought we'd treat ourselves to a couple of nights in a b/b.
It was fabulous!!! Nick and Maggie are wonderful, friendly, informative hosts and literally nothing is to much when you ask.
Room spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious- it was lovely as our room faced the church clock.....which we found quite romantic when it chimed! Great selection of local tea, fairtrade coffee, and other flavoured teas +biscuits which are replenished daily.

Breakfast was scrumpcious....everything is catered for. cereals, fresh fruit, greek yoghurt, even prunes! full english....which was a nice size. (BACON, SAUSAGE, EGG, MUSHROOMS, GRILLED TOMATO, BEANS, HASH BROWN, FRIED BREAD AND TOAST) THERE WERE HOMEMADE MARMALADES, TEA, COFFEE, FRIUT JUICES and you can choose to only have a bacon butty if it suits you.

There is a little bar area in the lounge if you want to have a drink before going out or you want to stay in.

2nd June 2012, we thought we try a cream tea here as in the summer they do cream teas. We have never had such delicious scones....EVER. and we love cream teas! We also took a couple of slices of Maggies homemade stem ginger cake. It was lushious!
You wont find a better cream tea in Porlock.....Promise! we have tried them all and they are nice but Maggies scones n cakes knock spots off them.
Nick and Maggie are genuinely kind hosts....not fake and pretencious.

WE WILL DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN!!! AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE OVERSTREAM.

Room Tip: Spacious room.....facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you are looking for value for money then this is it. We hadn't prebooked but the owners made us very welcome. The room (we opted for sea view) had everything we needed and in good supply. There was a also a good selection for breakfast which included a beautifully cooked breakfast.
There is only one negative which is when you leave the hotel they ask you hang your room key inside the kitchen door while you're out & collect it when you're back. We came back to find other keys available but no-one there so perhaps if you had valuables you may not be entirely comfortable with this arrangement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstream, Owner at Overstream, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding the keys, we have never experienced any problems and as we live on the premises one of us is always here.
However, we can understand why you raised this and we are currently looking at ways we can address it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Overstream for three nights in April. The guesthouse is run by Neil and Maggie, a very friendly couple who were knowledgeable on the local area and quick to provide maps and suggested walking routes. 

Our room was large with ensuite including a shower; the decor was basic but comfortable none the less and free wifi was available throughout the guesthouse. A good breakfast was available, including full English and/or lighter options such as fruit, toast and cereal. 

Neil and Maggie were helpful throughout our stay, especially when we had car problems that threatened to ruin our holiday. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to others. 

Room Tip: Room 6 had a sea view and was available for a small fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Perfectly located for convenience in the centre of picturesque Porlock, but so peaceful the only noise you'll hear is the occasional melodic clang of bells from St Dubricus across the road, the Overstream Hotel is the ideal place for a short break n Exmoor.
Our room was spacious and spotless. Any concerns about it being at the top of the stairs were soon negated when owner Nick showed us the tiny lift which zipped between floors quick-smart.
Nick and his wife Maggie were fantastic hosts. Unobtrusive but always on-hand should guests require anything and full of tips and recommendations.
Breakfasts were excellent and plentiful.
After years of passing by the Overstream on our way to other accommodation, we'll be heading directly there in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Arrived via Tourist Information Centre as we had been let down by another establishment. Really excellent room. Clean, bright and well decorated. Owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. Lots of local information offered. Breakfast was hot, plentiful with good quality food. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

A real gem of a find - very clean, comfy, cosy and warm. Every wish catered for in this hotel. Lovely location and Nick and Maggie are great hosts. Wondeful tasty breakfast, would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the top floor but doubt there would be much, if any, noise whichever bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Address: Parsons Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overstream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.