We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come back to the Oversteam every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overstream

Overstream
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Overstream to your Saves list
Overstream
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parsons Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We come back to the Oversteam every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have been visiting Porlock for forty years, and for many years have stayed at the Overstream hotel. Nick and Maggie are the current owners and make our stay an absolute
pleasure, Nick always remembers our preferences for breakfast and on arrival we are welcomed with a nice cup of tea in the tea garden,we can recommend Maggie's cream teas they are the best you can get. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this wonderful part of the country .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Radstock
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We decided to take a short rest break at Porlock (i.e. les than two hours) on the way home from a motoring holiday in Cornwall. We were looking for some refreshements and came across the Overstream Hotel and after a brief look at the menu, decided to order a couple of cream teas. Well what can we say? The service and the cream teas were absolutely superb. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you ever get the opportunity to try the cream teas here you should go for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

A welcoming, comfortable, homely hotel that I would like to return to. Proprietors NIck and Maggie are doing a great job here - very professional and also very kind and genuine. Breakfasts were terrific and the packed lunches excellent (especially the home-baked "surprise" each day). The room was spacious with two big windows and a nice view over thatched village rooftops towards the sea.

Porlock is a delightful village nestling between Exmoor and the sea - a perfect base for our walking and wild swimming holiday. The coastal bus service gives easy access along the North Somerset coastline and into nearby North Devon. The Ship Inn in the village is good for real ales and ciders. The Lapsewood Restaurant is highly recommended for eating out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

We have been staying at a different place but we did have cream tea here and this is - Luke others already stated worth mentioning: The place has a nice garden terrace just in The center of porlock-opposite The church. Though The chairs and tables are plastic and a little worn out (there is room for improvement here) through ambience is nice. If you happen to be there when oven-fresh scores are served together with piles of clothed cream and a nice cup of tea, you can been forget The steep hills round airlock that you'll have to walk or cycle if not by car or bus. By The way: from minehead The 300 bus is a nice way of getting to airlock for a tea!
Also worth mentioning if you are too late for The scores: ginger cake and even The very British bread pudding ... we tried it all :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstream, Owner at Overstream, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Cream Tea Gardens. We now have new tables and chairs for the 2012 season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here on a walking holiday and had a lovely time. Recommended, especially the cakes, packed lunches, and breakfasts. We were very well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

By chance we found this wonderful B&B on our trip through Southern England. It was getting late, we had no shelter and -of course- it started to rain. How lucky we were, that we chose the Overstream Hotel in Porlock to get a shelter! Maggie and Nick gave us a warm welcome, recommended some restaurants and lent us a map of the surrounding area. The room was very pleasant and spotless clean. The breakfast was delicious - both the full english and the vegetarian full english. We won't hesitate to come again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backwell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Hotel is very clean, comfortable - and nothing is too much trouble for the owners, Nick and Maggie Shattock. They will even set a table for you in the dining room if you wish to bring in a takeaway! Very highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Address: Parsons Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overstream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.