We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine and friendly place, comfortable bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage
Save
You added The Cottage to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   High Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
Devon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Genuine and friendly place, comfortable bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is just the kind of B&B you want to find, when you need to stay a night somewhere. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room is pleasant, even spacious, the bed is comfortable, and the breakfast is good quality. There is also a guests' living room downstairs, so there is somewhere to go if you just want to sit and muse a little. It is right in the village, and you can walk out the front door and just wander. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived at The Cottage very muddy and wet on the final day of the Coleridge Way walk and couldn't have been happier with the choice. Our room was lovely and spacious with a bath (as requested) and very comfy bed, nicely decorated with some lovely toiletries. Chris and Claire were very warm and welcoming and went out of their way to help us - lending us maps, giving us good advice on where to go, printing us out bus timetables and offering us a heated airer for our wet clothes. This deserves all the glowing reviews it gets and we will be sure to send friends and family there if they ever need a getaway! Bobby and Sally, London

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

"The Cottage" is quite deceiving from the outside, rooms are very spacious and we didn't experience any noise from any other rooms or from the village in general. Chris and Claire very welcoming and genuinely friendly. Won't repeat the glowing reports from TripAdvisor contributors, but accommodation and food all top-notch. This is my first TripAdvisor review, which speaks volumes about our good experience! Parking at the rear was a bonus, but if you're tall, watch your head in the doorways!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Chris and Claire know how to do things right.
From charming and comfortable rooms, incredible hot/high pressure showers, to a great location and a proper Full English home made (and served by Chris) breakfast, The Cottage is one of the most superior BnB's i've had the pleasure to stay in.
It's a handsome old home with pictures of Porlock dating back to the early 1900's, a honorable section of classic literature to thumb through, and some of the most outstanding hosts on the Island.
My father and I were spending a long weekend in November hiking around Exmoor and from Porlock to Minehead. The Cottage caught my eye whilst looking for places to stay via the raving reviews...and the moment I got in contact with Chris over the phone I knew it was a good choice.
Chris was nice enough to take my father and I up to the Beacon on a cold and raining day so we could hike back into town. Without the hospitality of Chris it would have been a rubbish walk.

Book a room and at least your stay will be amazing if nothing else is.
6 stars would be more appropriate than 5.

What more do you want? Seriously...

Room Tip: Just give them a call!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlemere, High Wycombe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Cottage offers a home from home stay with the room offering an amazing amount of luxuries.
Chris and Claire were very welcoming and greeted us so warmly. The room was warm and cosy and very tastefully decorated. It had lovely furniture/ tv and a very comfortable bed and pillows, we slept very very well. The bathroom was very clean and filled with luxurious smellies, fluffy white towels and flannels and had a fantastically strong power shower in a large shower cubicle.
Loads of tea and coffee and hot chocolate available and even sachets of squash to go with the bottles of water left in the room. Breakfast was marvellous, very tasty indeed with loads of choice to start the day off before a long day of exploring the wonderful surroundings. Definitely will be back. thank you Claire and Chris, it was such a lovely stay x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you from Chris and Claire at this B&B in the in the centre of Porlock. The place was spotless, the rooms are modern and comfortable, breakfast was great with locally sourced products. Visiting the area? then the Cottage should be your first port of call for your stay. We will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A brilliant location right in the centre of the village, close to restaurants and pubs but without any extraneous noise. Excellent centre for walking as there is so much choice from right outside the door.

The Cottage is full of character and the rooms are lovely, good size and beautifully decorated and appointed. Our rooms had huge showers which were amazing and loads of toiletries to try; plus huge soft fluffy bathsheets. Delicious breakfasts with lots of choices, using much local produce.

Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They really made us feel completely at home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Address: High Street, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.