We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling trip made easy..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Bank Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Bank Guest House
High Street | Porlock Somerset, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cycling trip made easy..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a gem this B&B is, Jon & Elaine are some of the friendliest people you could wish to meet,
Provided a place for us to store our bikes and even let us use their crab lines for crabbing down at Porlock Weir.

With a wealth of knowledge of the area be sure to ask for tips and best paths.

Great breakfast with a large selection to choice from.

Nothing was too much trouble, which made our week a perfect one - Thanks Jon & Elaine

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7 which has a great view over the salt marsh towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
113
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at this guest house whilst walking the Minehead to Porlock section of the South West Coast Path. It is a real gem of a guest house with fantastic hosts. Rooms are plenty large enough with en suite facilities (some dog friendly). Nothing was too much trouble - even muddy walking boots. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Our evening candlelit dinner was also delicious.

We rarely go back to the same place twice as we believe the world is big enough not to - however we will make an exception for this guest house and plan to return later this year when walking the next section of the coat path.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just had a weeks walking holiday based in Porlock at Rose Bank there were 7 of us in our group and John and Elaine were excellent hosts, lovely clean rooms good choice of menu for breakfast and evening meal and excellent value for money. For those considering Porlock for the first time, it really is an incredibly friendly village, lots of character and beautiful surroundings, we love Porlock.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

After another five day stay at the Rose Bank ,on our month long recent UK tour ,we can say categorically ,that John and Elaine's impeccable guest house and it's fantastic location in the village of Porlock once again was one of the highlights of our trip.
Exmoor,Porlock and the Rose Bank guest house continually tempts us back year after year from the other side of the world.
Not sure there could be any better recommendation than that.
The Rose Bank deserves all the accolades it has received.


Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

This one is a "keeper" lovely people, nice place, great breakfast and a good pub just round the corner. Sorted.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went with my mum lovely couple that own the bb nothing to much trouble wonderful breakfast going again in august

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I found this little gem during a day trip to Porlock. The hotel we were staying in another village was disgusting and expensive. We viewed one room here and cancelled our existing booking and moved in here for the rest of our stay. The breakfast was superb and cooked to our request, the rooms are spotless, well furnished and appointed and the relaxed attitude of the owners made us feel at home from the start. Porlock is an ideal location for fantastic walks and day trips and a short distance from Minehead but far enough away to escape the overflow from Butlins and this B&B makes it an ideal base for a break in the West Country. We will defiantly return here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bank Guest House

Address: High Street | Porlock Somerset, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Bank is an 1856 Victorian Property, awarded E.T.B. 4 star silver award status; situated in an elevated position on Porlock High Street close to all the village Amenities. John & Elaine Stenner have a lifetime of experience in the hospitality industry and after 7 years have astablished Rose Bank as a Premier quality Guest House in the village,and very proud to have received the 2012 Tripadvisor Award of Excellence.This autumn we have reduced our room numbers from 6 to 4 and as a result have been able to install a new residents' lounge with TV and refreshment facilities, as well as extending the breakfast and dinner menu, a move designed to maintain our high end status. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Bank Guest House Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Bank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rose Bank Guest House to your Saves list