We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Arms

The Manor Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Manor Arms to your Saves list
The Manor Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Middle Street, North Perrott TA18 7SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Perrott
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stopped here on a trip initially just for lunch but after exploring the area ended up staying the night. Traditional pub with good hearty pub grub at reasonable prices. Room was a little dated but adequate for the price. Everything worked and was clean. Good cooked breakfast included served by the chef (Julie?) who was pleasant and chatty. Sadly it seems like I was the only guest which might explain the for sale sign outside....

Room Tip: Stayed in the annex behind the pub. Quiet and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

After having read the reviews on here about the Manor Arms, I was looking forward to a stay with my boyfriend and other friends. Unfortunately, we seemed to have been allocated the worst room in the place, despite us staying 2 nights and our friends just the one. the bedroom was also directly above the bar which kept going until at least middnight on a Sunday!! The double bed was tiny and horrifically uncomfy - wedged up on wooden blocks. My partner and I both came away with bad backs after 2 nights. The bathroom had 2 suspicious brown stains on the floor which came off with water and toilet paper, however the shower was powerful and clean. The room itself was tiny where other rooms were much bigger and had 4 poster beds... Breakfast was average as was dinner, my prawns were fried to within an inch of their lives, but the service was good so I hadn't the heart to send it back. I don't know what else to say - all in all, disappointing and won't be going back despite the cheap price tag.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perranporth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Dinner very good. Breakfast adequate. At least 7 well kept real ales. Lovely inn as has been mentioned. Room basic but excellent for the money.

  • Liked — everything provided, even toothbrush and razor
  • Disliked — only one chair
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at the Manor Arms (1st time was in May) and yet again we had a fantastic time. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was brillant! Special mention has to be made of Julie, the chef, who went out of her way again to look after us ( my husband is a vegetarian).
We will definately be going back and would recommend the Manor Arms to anybody wanting to explore Somerset/Dorset.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — firm matress
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

My Mum and I stayed here for 2 nights in separate rooms on their "Gourmet Break" package; which is well worth going for. They accommodated us in their last 2 rooms and also gave us a very good price for our stay. I was sceptical at first as the price seemed very low for what we were receiving but it was a lovely gesture on their part for the reason we needed to stay in Somerset.

The service you receive from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave could teach a few 5 star establishments a few lessons, I can tell you! LOL They are helpful, fun, normal and above all interested in giving their guests a lovely experience by staying with them. Nothing was too much trouble. The food is wonderful, plentiful and well presented.

If there had to be a downside, and it is a very minor blip, the Inn itself could do with some money being spent on it but so could a lot of places you pay a lot more more money to stay in.

All in all it is a wonderful place to stay and I would happily recommend it to anyone who asked. Just give them a ring and sort out your dates - we loved it and would go again in a heartbeat.

Well done, Manor Arms - keep up the great work! :-)

  • Liked — Lovely big four poster room
  • Disliked — Facilities were a little dated but very clean - nothing wrong with it - just could do with updating
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

Just returned from a 3 night break.
Room was very nice, a little quirky, but what do you expect in an old inn. The bathroom was very small and dated, but functional.
Generally in need of a little updating.
There was some noise from the public bar, which was directly under our room. Apparently the rooms at the back of the inn are much quieter, so would ask for one of these next time.
The food was fantastic. An interesting selection of dishes for dinner and breakfast was substantial.
Overall a very good valued break, in a beautiful part of the country.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Bathroom.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Just back from our 3rd visit to this lovely old inn. As usual the food was exceptional, well cooked good choice . The staff and locals are very friendly and welcoming. Due to a plumbing problem we were upgraded to a 4 poster room in the main inn, whilst this was a lovely room it does suffer from some noise from the road and we do prefer the rooms in the stable block at the rear, this did not in any way detract from our enjoyment of our stay. Incredible value for money and can reccomend it wholeheartily, if you like real ales you will be in heaven here with a choice of 6.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Arms

Address: 19 Middle Street, North Perrott TA18 7SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Perrott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Perrott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Village Inn set in heart of a conservation village on the West Dorset/South Somerset borders, Built in local mellow stone, with beamed ceilings and inglenook fireplace it is a Freehouse serving a fine selection of cask ales, full a-la-carte dining room, bar snacks and a function room for private parties. It has a large car park at the rear together with a very pleasant beer garden. There are 9 letting en-suite rooms. Five are situated in the Coach House at the rear of the main building (of which 2 are set on the ground floor to facilitate guests with mobility problems. The remaining 4 rooms are situated upstairs above the bar within the Inn' The village of North Perrott is an ideal stopping spot for seeing the sights of the area. We are close to the West Dorset Coast for Lyme Bay, Weymouth and the whole Jurassic Coast is within 30 minutes driving time. We are surrounded by National Trust properties, beautiful walking country and some of the most picturesque villages Britain has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Arms Hotel North Perrott
Manor Arms North Perrott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.