We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amchara Health Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langford Budville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amchara Health Retreat
Save
You added Amchara Health Retreat to your Saves list
Langford Budville, Langford Budville TA21 0RU, England (Formerly Bindon Country House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked Bindon House for a 40th birthday party fri - monday with 22 guests. All I can say is that everything was perfect from the house and grounds to the staff. Lyn (the Manager) was extremely helpful even before we came and helped us organise everything. Matt and Alex was great serving and hosting etc and gave us the right amount of attention letting us get on with the party but being there when needed.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were all of a good standard and had everything we needed. We had all of our meals cooked for us by Mike who kept up the experience to the highest level.
I can highly recommend Bindon House and we are already looking to the next time we can come to stay (hopefully Christmas 2013)

Thank you to you all x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
12
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The house was just wonderful for a houseparty of about 30 people. There were plenty of rooms and facilities which meant that everyone was able to relax, play sport, or just generally enjoy the ambience of the place. The staff were very helpful and supportive.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the house weekend of 17th February for a 40th birthday party. Lyn couldn't have been more helpful showing us around and telling us how things worked in the kitchen. It was a bit like Masterchef Challenge working in the kitchen but all worked very well indeed. On the Saturday we had chef Michael prepare a fabulous meal which was absolutely delicious. And he didn't mind you going into the kitchen whilst he was getting on with it either. We had a number of children in the party who had the time of their lives running around and playing hide and seek. In addition we also arranged for a beauty therapist to come in on Saturday afternoon so that us girls could look our best for the dinner. The rooms were really comfortable and spacious too.
Absolutely fabulous location. Couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

A very quiet and elegant country house hotel near Wellington,Somerset and the gardens and flowers were beautiful.Although in need of some structural refurbishment,the house was very relaxing.
The rooms were necessarily a little faded as the property dates from 19th century and the details of TV which never worked as a result of poor reception + a shower that took 5 mins to run warm detracted from the overall experience.
However,the warm and friendly welcome by the owner and her dog Indy plus the service received from the staff were of a high standard albeit we were only 8 people in the whole hotel all week.
The food was good from breakfast to dinner and they were adaptable to our requirement s offering a suitable menu for our budget on two evenings.
We were lucky with the rate we paid as it was a quiet week but,if we were booking normally,the rate would be £145 per person/night.
Normally a hotel booked for private weekend functions,shooting parties etc..it is definitely a place to consider if you can get a rate below £100 per p/n.

Room Tip: Ask for a special rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

... and couldn't have had a better experience. We stayed a few months beforehand too and had a fantastic weekend, with great food, large cosy rooms, well-stocked bar and friendly staff. But for our wedding weekend, they really pulled the stops out. They made our weekend the absolute dream we couldn't even have hoped for, worked so hard to make it a reality, and now most of our friends are asking for the website so they can book in for special occasions. This will forever be our special occasion hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We hired Bindon House for the weekend on a self catering basis but utilized their catering services for a birthday party of 80 people on the saturday evening. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and I found the service at Bindon House second to none!! Their balance between being friendly and easy-going yet professional and efficient was perfect. The food Mike cooked for us on the saturday night was delicious and everyone commented on how friendly and helpful he had been during the day.
The house itself was immaculate but still felt comfortable and homely. Each room has it's own charactar but all are maintained to a high standard with lovely ensuite facilities. I loved that there was so much to do at the house, from the swimming pool to the tennis court, trampoline, pool table and garden games. My only disappointment was that I didn't have longer to enjoy it all. If I could have stayed the whole week I would have!!! Bindon House isn't a cheap place to hire but it certainly is value for money.

Room Tip: Favourite = Vitoria (decor), Rolica (view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We feel incredibly lucky to have found Bindon Country House - what an amazing place! We used it as the venue for our wedding celebration - and we honestly couldn't have done better. It was beautiful, classy, quirky, comfortable, served delicious food, and the staff was professional to the max. For such a special occasion it was really important to us that things went well, and they came through for us and then some - we'll treasure the memories we have of it forever.

Some details:

We booked the house for 3 nights over a weekend in August for a group of around 15 adults plus children, and also had a party with around 100 people all day and evening on the Saturday. We used the swimming pool, swing, croquet, boules, football and goals, gardens, outdoor patio and barbecue, free parking, grand piano, Bose music system, and free wireless internet. All great.

What attracted us initially was that they were very good about being reasonable with prices, and with the fact that we didn't want to book the place for a whole week. That, and the beautiful and surreal architecture and setting in a lovely part of England. I'd emailed dozens of other places and looked at hundreds on the internet - nobody else was so accommodating, and many of the places on offer weren't half as beautiful.

Right from the first moment of contact, around 10 months before the event, Emma the Coordinator and Lynn the owner were incredibly helpful and organised. Communication was excellent, and once we'd signed the contract, their help was just as professional. I felt confident all the way through that everything was getting done properly - a huge relief when you're tearing your hair out with trying to coordinate a wedding. Additionally, Emma was able to suggest and arrange reliable service providers (catering, music), so that I didn't have to find and contact them myself. It was all so straightforward, efficient and pleasant.

On the day of the party, they were amazing. I've been a professional large-scale event producer for famous international brands in London and I don't give that praise lightly. In fact, everyone says I'm totally neurotic about getting things done properly and on time. Not only did the Bindon team manage to live up to my ridiculously high standards, but they also anticipated problems and situations I hadn't considered, dealing with them in advance. I really didn't have to worry about a thing. Plus, on top of racing about working their socks off for 10+ hours without dropping the ball once, they even managed to be extremely friendly and welcoming to us and our guests!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Bindon to everyone - and in fact I've been doing so, since the event. I only hope we get the chance to go back and stay there again sometime soon. Ah, the memories....

If anyone is thinking of having a wedding celebration there and wants to email me for more details about Bindon, I'd be happy to oblige.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amchara Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amchara Health Retreat

Address: Langford Budville, Langford Budville TA21 0RU, England (Formerly Bindon Country House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langford Budville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Langford Budville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amchara is an integrated health retreat located at Bindon Country House in West Somerset.Amchara specialises in helping people who either wish to detox or are looking for an integrated positive alternative to a variety of health challenges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bindon Country House Hotel Langford Budville
Bindon Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amchara Health Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.