We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stay.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hood Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hood Arms to your Saves list
The Hood Arms
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Pardlestone Lane, Kilve TA5 1EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilve B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a stay.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

As the title says what a stay!! But this is no means a good thing, food was way overpriced and very late in coming out. the staff spend more time in looking after the landlord and wife than other customers!! And the landlord is full of rubbish, he gets drunk at the bar everynight then tells the customers to p**s off at 2300!
Never going anywhere near this place again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    35
    18
    14
    15
See reviews for
33
72
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My Wife and I and our 2x Staffordshire Bull Terriers Sky & Maverick throughly enjoyed our stay from friday 1st October-sunday 3rd October. Upon arrival we were welcomed and shown to our room number 14 which was beautifully presented and everywhere was clean and the bed comfortable. We had meals both evenings which were excellent and the staff were attentive and friendly. John spoke to us always cheery along with his father in law Michael a real Gentleman. We found this little gem on our annual holiday and we will definitely be back next year with all the family. Keep up the good work one and all.
PS ON A PERSONAL NOTE AND I HAVE HEARD THIS SAID AT SEVERAL PLACES I HAVE STAYED THEY WOULD APPRECIATE A RIGHT TO REPLY TO SOME OF THE COMMENTS MADE IS THIS TOO MUCH TO ASK???????

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
witney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Since coming to the area and staying at this place every few months, we have enjoyed a very warm welcome by staff, locals and owner who all work hard to make our stay most welcoming. The chef cooks up a mean pie of the day and John tells many interesting stories to entertain us. Dogs are welcome which is a main part of our lives. The rooms are clean warm and a good size. We don't care what others say on here, we know what we like and this place each time gets a thumbs up.
Jules Tash, hebe n coco

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed over a weekend in September after a wedding booked up our priority choices.

In summary, pleasant pub for a drink, well located for walking in the Quantocks, but we had a damp and dirty room.

We had a nice friendly welcome from the day staff on the Friday.

We were given one of the rear 'stable' rooms which was refurbished nicely enough with pleasant furniture, a nice sunny aspect and neutral decor.

However, the room stank of damp all weekend. Fair enough, the building is old but it reeked. Not sure if a day's airing prior would cure it or not but I don't think anyone tried.

The room cleanliness was poor everywhere. The carpets had not been vacuumed, I saw a left over contact lens, hair and nail clippings. Also, the place was riddled with cobwebs and those spindly spiders, together with 3 or 4 woodlice. dead and alive oh, and an earwig, bit of a wildlife adventure really. OK, we are near the garden and I'm not the squeemish type but cleanliness-wise, it is unacceptable. The webs were dusty so had been there for ages and were everywhere in plain sight as well as under the bed.

The place was just simply dirty and can't have been dusted for what must be months.

The bedstead was pleasant enough with a kingsize bed. The mattress was bagged out and had two, person sized dents in it. After a rough night's sleep we turned it ourselves on the second night was better, almost took my mind off the damp!

Not sure what the cleaner did when they came apart from 'arrange' the bedding. Shower room floor had not been mopped prior so I didnt expect it to be done in the morning. No new shower gel, didn't fold the towels, didn't empty the bin or replace tea bags. Fair enough it is just a B and B and I am not too fussed about these things but at £95 a night, they are just another example of how this place is doing well below the minimum to deserve custom when there are lovely owner managed places around here.

Breakfast was good quality and served by friendly staff. The dining room and pub are cosy and there is parking available.

In summary, I would not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We came down from Oxford and were in a hurry to check in. Dan found the keys and quickly took us to our rooms. Nicely furnished and as you would expect, clean and tidy. Coffee and scrummy cookies as well which was a bit of a bonus. Came downstaires where we needed to sort out a taxi. This time John 'mine host' sorted us out. We went off to our bash retuning later that evening to enjoy the company of the locals in the bar. We were made to feel very welcome and having sampled a few of the local brews we went to bed happy with our lot. Breakfast consisted of a true 'Full English' but you could have taken the lighter option of cereral if that had suited you. Very pleasent lady serving on the table, only too happy to accommodate our demands of extra tea and toast (hangover kicking in) and tomato sauce. On the Saturday we wanted to sample the food so we returned in time for dinner. Our first choice was not available due to a run on them earlier in the night. No problem, I felt it was a sign that things must be good. Crab cakes followed by plaice was my order. Fab; the plaice in particular was really, really fresh and Chef had not tried to be clever with it but just served it with butter and lemon which was perfect. Once again we were pleased to be included in the 'locals' conversation and felt very at home. Yes, there are shall I say signs of 'country persuits' within the dinning area and bar but these did not offend us in the slightest and only added to the charater of the place. John and his family have a great thing going with The Hood and I shall look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We booked to eat at the Hood Arms having eaten there the previous year when we were in Somerset. Having been shown to our table and given the menu the waitress walked off before we could even ask for some drinks. We waited...and waited...and waited...and waited. After 20 minutes my partner went to the bar to get them himself. The food when it arrived was very tasty and we couldn't fault it, however, once again my partner had to go to the bar to get us some more drinks as we could not get the attention of the waitress. We also waited so long for them to clear our plates after the main course that we couldn't be bothered to have a dessert as it was getting fairly late by this time. The table behind us were experiencing problems too as the Landlord sent one of the waitresses over with a complimentary bottle of wine. He then proceeded to walk round every table enquiring "Is everything ok?" in a loud, intimidating voice. Bearing in mind this is a Pub that sells food you would have thought that asking diners if they would like a drink while they look at the menu would have been the first thing the waiting staff would ask you? I can only assume that the Landlord really doesn't give a toss about customer service or staff training; maybe thinking the customer is only passing trade never to be seen again. To sum it up the Hood Arms clearly has a good chef, serving great food BUT is let down by extremely poor service for the money - we've had better service at Pizza Express.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We had booked into one of the 'cottages' that had 2 bedrooms and a living room 2-3 months prior to our stay as we were going to a wedding locally. When making the booking we confirmed that 5 people could stay and they even gave us measurements of the sofa to ensure that someone could sleep comfortably on it.

We all arrived at the hotel and checked in and were finally shown to our room by 2 members of staff (1 didn't know where our room was) we again confirmed there were 5 of us and a newborn baby.

We then headed off to the wedding and returned to the hotel at 10.30pm ready to crash and with a very tired baby who was definitely ready for bed! We were greeted in our room to be told by the manager that 5 people could not infact stay here and that we could not stay unless one of our party slept somewhere else ie the car! They offered us no alternative rooms or accomodation elsewhere and were not sympathetic to our situaton considering it was an error on their part - the person that took our booking no longer worked there! So we had to repack our belongings and the car and leave. As it was so late it was difficult to find accomodation locally so we had to drive the 3 hours home!

To add insult to injury they wanted payment for the room! Even though they would not allow us to stay!

The customer service was shocking as they were not concerned in the slightest where we were going to stay at this time of night. We were made to feel as though we had done something wrong when we hadn't!

This was definitely one of the worst customer service experiences I have ever received!!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hood Arms

Address: Pardlestone Lane, Kilve TA5 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Kilve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hood Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hood Arms is a beautifully furnished 17th century inn with orginal oak beams, natural stone walls, and open fireplaces. We are located at the foot of the Quantock hills and just one mile from Kilve's 'moonscape' beach. There are 12 comfortable, fully equipped en suite guest bedrooms which have been rated AA 4 stars. Our restaurant enjoys an excellent reputation far and wide, and guests are able to relax in our cosy bar or, during the summer months, in our large pretty garden. We are aware that we have had some negative comments posted on tripadvisor in recent months. We would like to assure you that the vast majority of our customers are very happy with their stay but we have reviewed these comments seriously and are genuinely working hard to make improvements. Why don't you try it and see for yourself? We guanrantee to do our very best to make your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Hood Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hood Arms Hotel Kilve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hood Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.