We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free for all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Ilminster

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Ilminster
Save
You added Travelodge Ilminster to your Saves list
A303, Southfield Roundabout, Horton, Ilminster TA19 9PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Free for all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked a room on line and went though all the correct procedures. If you want to check in before 3 you have to pay a fee of £10. When we arrived at the travelodge it was 3.05pm and we heard the manager say they can not have that room because Mr so and so has called and asked for this room especially. We though this was very rude and also against protocol.We were then told by the receptionist that the manager had given keys out to customers at 2.30 and had not been charged any extra. This is out of order, as I am sure other people just like us went though the correct procedures. Also the 30 minutes free internet is a complete con, as you don't get your full minutes we kept getting cut off after 10 minutes & were unable to gain access for 24 hours. Would not recommend this place, also due to lack of air in rooms as we were unable to open enough windows to get a free flow of air. It was like being in an oven.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have any sound proofing what's so ever. Windows don't open wide enough to let a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
21
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ross-on-wye
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I got a family room for my daughter and I for £75.
Good:
- Decor is nice and fresh
- Clean fresh bedlinen
- Good value WiFi which worked well
Not so good:
- Unpleasant smell in the downstairs corridor
- Receptionist so stern we though we had done something wrong!
- They have not changed the bathroom suit so toilet and shower look a little used!
Would I stay again? Yes but I would still look for other deals in the area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Recently refurbished Ilminster Travelodge is now excellent. In the past the furniture and bedding had let down the excellent location and service, now it offers a super place to stay whilst visiting family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just be warned that Travelodge will routinely overbook their hotels. This means that if everyone turns up and you are the last to check in then you will not get your room. Are you prepared to risk that?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Ilminster, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review 001001001010101. On rare occasions we do have unexpected take up of arrivals at our hotels. Our hotel staff are fully trained on how to deal with such situations and will always reduce the impact by informing the customer beforehand and by finding alternative accommodation as close by the hotel as possible, we will then cover the cost of any additional travel expenses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

this had to be one of the best travelodges we have stayed in, the new beds and bedding were excellent, and the little chef next door was very nice, plenty of parking too, we would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you choose the Illminster Travelodge do not accept room 114. The extractor fan from the restaurant is just outside the window. It is very noisy and smelly and we had to have the window open as the room was so hot. The refurbishment of this Travelodge seems to have down-graded the rooms. Although the bed was comfortable, the room was clean etc. there was no where to put your suitcase except the floor. There were no comfy chairs or sofa to sit on and the TV was small and wasn't even widescreen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at this Travelodge for a couple of nights in June, Firstly - the positives. Location is good and convenient. Ample car park space, adjacent Little Chef restaurant/ Burger King - also a Shell garage with limited supplies of snacks etc.
As for the hotel itself - its a "re furbished" Travelodge. That means brighter rooms, better beds etc. The room itself was of a good size, bathroom adequate.
Some minor issues with cleaning / housekeeping - the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned fully on check in - there was a distinct edge of dust around the perimeter of the floor, and I found the plastic cover of a razor in the floor, when I stood on it!

I was interested to note from a previous review that reception offered a fan for the rooms - if I had only known that! The room was very hot - as was the weather - throughout my stay, and this would have been very welcome. Please - when its hot and stuffy - make fans complimentary, not optional. The windows only have the usual restricted opening, for fresh air ventilation.

Now - if you are thinking of taking advantage of Wi -Fi ( payable, although I can never understand why ), be aware. Its slow, and the room I was in really struggled to get reception. I had to pop out into the corridor to get re connected, frequently. Not acceptable really,
I have emailed Travelodge about this - sadly, no response. Disappointing. Interestingly - reception staff let it slip that they have issues themselves with Wi - Fi connectivity.
Overall - a reasonable Travelodge. Could easily be a brilliant Travelodge with just a few remedial touches.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Ilminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ilminster

Address: A303, Southfield Roundabout, Horton, Ilminster TA19 9PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster > Horton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ilminster Hotel Horton Cross
Travel Lodge Horton Cross
Travelodge Horton Cross
Horton Cross Travelodge
Horton Cross Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Ilminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.