We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay-highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Five Dials Inn

The Five Dials Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Five Dials Inn to your Saves list
The Five Dials Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Goose Lane | Horton, Horton, Ilminster TA19 9QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Horton B&B and Inns
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay-highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here overnight in the family room, en route to Cornwall. I'm so pleased that I found this B&B on the internet. I cannot praise it enough & will definetly be going back. The bar, restaurant & rooms are bright, airy & very clean. We arrived tired & hungry on Friday night & had a meal straight away. I had the mushroom soup & braised steak cottage pie which was sublime. We all had the full English breakfast the next morning which was lovely & set us up for the day. The family room is very spacious with a modern ensuite bathroom. The business is owned by a local couple called Sarah & Paul. We didn't meet Paul as he was busy in the bar or cooking breakfast. but we spoke to Sarah who is a lovely lady, very friendly & welcoming. They have owned The Five Dials inn for nearly 3 years & have made a great success of it which is well deserved. We wish them every success for the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
41
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stopped over at the Five Dials Inn on both journeys to and from Cornwall and cannot praise the accommodation enough. The rooms are beautifully appointed and there has been great attention to detail with every possible extra touch having been considered( even to the extent of folding the edges of the loo roll to make it look appealing!). The bathing/ showering facilities are generously proportioned and meticulously clean. The beds are comfy with luxurious linen.The hosts are attentive and very pleasant and helpful. We would really recommend this as an ideal overnight stay to anyone travelling to the West Country and who need a break in the journey . The only word of caution that I think should be added is that if you choose to book a table in the restaurant (and you really should do if you can as the food is absolutely top notch) make a point of requesting a table in the restaurant area or you risk being placed in the bar area which can really spoil what should and could be a gastronomical delight. We were placed in what turned out to be a rowdy bar area where you couldn't hear yourself think never mind have a conversation, and serenaded with really unimpressive and foul mouthed songs by over exuberant drinkers.... not a nice experience at all. Be aware that you should ask specifically for a table at the back room if you want to enjoy your meal... we finished ours in the garden and in the rain. Having said that, overall we would definitely recommend this to our friends and family in terms of the accommodation... it really was excellent value and excellent quality.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

what a gem , can not fault the five dials inn , really friendly staff , the room was clean a good size and the on suite wet room was great , food was excellent and free wi-fi a bonus, have already recommended it to family , and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Fab. Owners lovely, food excellent, accommodation great. All anyone could wish for - unless you are looking for 5* luxury with all the trimmings. Ideally placed to tour about each day and see the many attractions of Somerset and Dorset.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

only stayed the one night but felt realy welcomed all the staff were great and the food was exellant , the rooms were out off this world fantastic thanks again to sarah and her staff .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stopped over after reading rave reviews and we were not let down. Really clean, lovely looking pub with great beer and a mixture of locals and tourists. The landlord and landlady were the friendliest I have met and we even got a personal tour of the b&b and kitchen which was immaculately clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissyFCW
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed here for 3 nights for a short break in the country and there is little to say about it other than the rooms were clean and comfortable, the food good, the cider cheap and the landlord and landlady lovely, friendly people. I cannot recommend it enough

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Five Dials Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Dials Inn

Address: Goose Lane | Horton, Horton, Ilminster TA19 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Five Dials Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Five Dials Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Dials Inn
The Five Dials Hotel Horton Cross

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Five Dials Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.