We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Combe House Hotel to your Saves list
Combe House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely building, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights using Groupon coupon we had been given a gift. We had warm welcome, including cream tea with fizz, although we were advised it was quite late. Paid for upgraded room. We stayed in room 20 which was pretty. As expected the en suite was a little less than state of the art. Towels were lovely, bathroom very clean. A pleasant, spacious room with king size bed. Only downside, thin plasterboard walls. We knew what our neighbours were doing and saying in their en suite. Can only assume others would be disturbed by us. However we chose not to dwell on this and let it spoil our stay. On first night we enjoyed a well prepared, beautifully presented meal. Breakfast on both days was nice, good quality sausages and bacon. Only downside for me was no fruit. Our second night dinner was rather less enjoyable. We both had cold potato product. Chips were lukewarm and mash so cold it was inedible. Such a shame. Waitress explained this was because they were busy and we received complimentary dessert. Was particularly disappointed to find soup of the day, fish of the day and today's special were exactly the same on both nights. This was disappointing as we were there for a Ruby Wedding celebration.
We didn't see any dogs during our stay which was a plus for us. Hotel is so clean and smells so fresh it was a joy. ( I really dislike the smell of wet dog, but there was none. )
Would certainly think about returning, perhaps in better weather when a stroll to the pub for menu change would be more attractive. Recent bad weather had left road somewhat muddy. Not relevant to hotel standards I know.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    101
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
61
253
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tonesx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the summer, the location was lovely and peaceful. The owner advised me that there was a wedding party on the nights that we stayed so they would put us in a room closer to the other end of the hotel, nice touch. But the room we were put into was rather drab and uninteresting, it appears to me that the whole place needs a bit of updating and "love".
The breakfast was average and uninspiring to the palette, we had dinner one night and this was much the same with a limited menu. The staff were also difficult to find sometimes, which made things frustrating when you wanted to order food, a drink from the bar or even when we came to check out.

With a bit of love and money spent on this hotel it could be perfect, you are nearly there Combe House Hotel.....the reviewers are telling you that....just try a little harder.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tonesx
Thank you for your review – although it always surprises me when a reviewer waits 6 months before deciding to write and post a report. Regards your room I can only state that in over 250 reviews on this site ‘drab’ is an adjective not previously used. You booked a standard room at a heavily discounted rate and we took it upon ourselves to make sure that you were not inconvenienced by the large wedding party taking place. However without specifics as to the ‘drab’ we cannot rectify (if required) accordingly.
Regards your description of our food what exactly do you mean by a breakfast having an uninspiring palette? Eggs are from our local farm and bacon from our local butcher. Confused.
We did indeed run a reduced menu due to the fact we were looking after the wedding party but again without any detail behind your generalised comment it is hard to discern what was wrong for you, especially in light of the great many comments made publically and to our staff about how excellent our restaurant is. There were indeed fewer staff on than normal due to the focus being on the wedding party and we apologise if this caused you any inconvenience. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked through a friend who has been here innumerable times and we fancied being away for New Year as we had heard there was a good "Bash" over New Year.
We arrived on New years eve and were met by very friendly staff. We had room 11 which was a very comfy large double overlooking the side garden. It was very quiet and peaceful room.
The hotel is ideally situated for walking around the many Quantock walks using Holford as a base.
We had a fantastic time, the New Years eve meal was delicious and the festivities ran through till the wee hours, and then all we had to do was climb the stairs to bed!
Friends brought dogs with them and everyone was well catered for, the staff are very friendly and helpful .

Room Tip: The garden suite is great if you have dogs, we stayed in room 11. A large double with shower- no bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad to hear that you and your friends had a good time over New Year, we thouroughly enjoyed looking after our New Year guests who were all in good spirits and were a real delight.
We hope to see you all again soon - kind regards - Combe House - Holford - Somerset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked a groupon deal £139 for 2 nights bed and breakfast with festive afternoon tea.
Arrived to a very warm welcome from the man at reception.
Paid £30 for a room upgrade. Stayed in room 14, not really sure what was so special about the room that it was classed as an upgraded one. There was a 2 seater sofa right at the bottom of the bed, not that it could have been used to sit on to watch tv as the tv was high up on the wall which was right in front of the sofa. All in all the room was pretty basic, certainly not worth paying an extra £30 for. Having read previous reviews it would seem that having a bath is classed as an upgrade so maybe thats what i paid for.
The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was ok, you can help yourself to cereal and juice everything else was made to order. However no yoghurts or pastries available.
The "festive afternoon tea" was just 2 mince pies and a glass of mulled wine so maybe should have been advertised as such.
The hotel itself is set in a lovely area, peaceful and pet friendly.
Wifi is available but the signal in rooms is not great, works best in the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay extra for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sally D – thank you for your feedback and just a few comments by way of balance. Regards the room upgrade, as you experienced our hotel is a 200 year old Grade 2 listed building, and every room is a different dimension. Your room is classed as Superior as it is in a quieter location within the building with views of the grounds, a super-king size bed and large bathroom with corner bath and walk in shower, none of which you mention, it is certainly not ‘pretty basic’ which is just a throw-away term.
In respect of festive afternoon tea, quite what were you expecting, in the deal you purchased it was advertised exactly as you were provided. It was a shame that you decided not to try our restaurant on either evening of your stay and did not have breakfast on the day of departure due to your partner enduring a nasty bout of food poisoning contracted from eating elsewhere which saw him hospitalised which must have been most upsetting for you.
We do hope that if you are ever visiting West Somerset again you would come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We had the best weekend ever at Coombe House for our daughters wedding. The venue was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, thanks to Sophie. The food was excellent. Thank you all for making everyone's weekend one to remember.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent a weekend at this fabulously run family hotel. Did not want to leave. Breakfast was delicious, as was the evening meal we had. The restaurant was busy with a large party but we were still attended to promptly and with excellent service and smiles. The owners Gareth and Catherine along with all of their staff were wonderful, considerate and friendly. I'm in a wheelchair so weekends away are not easy but everyone went out of their way to help or offer assistance. The "Treatment Room" was very relaxing and excellent value for money. Lynda is a very talented and experienced therapist who went out of her way to accommodate us. Well worth treating yourself to a soak in the hot tub too.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior room is accessible for disabled and has its own conservatory and access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quaint hotel, nice clean newly refurbished rooms. Dog friendly but as it creaks I would upgrade to room that has easy access outside for my annoying dog that likes an early morning wee! Also worth upgrading to superior room to get a bath bit our shower was lovely! Will come again for sure...food is great too!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.