We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for anywhere better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Combe House Hotel to your Saves list
Combe House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for anywhere better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We had the best weekend ever at Coombe House for our daughters wedding. The venue was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, thanks to Sophie. The food was excellent. Thank you all for making everyone's weekend one to remember.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    90
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
58
229
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ringwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent a weekend at this fabulously run family hotel. Did not want to leave. Breakfast was delicious, as was the evening meal we had. The restaurant was busy with a large party but we were still attended to promptly and with excellent service and smiles. The owners Gareth and Catherine along with all of their staff were wonderful, considerate and friendly. I'm in a wheelchair so weekends away are not easy but everyone went out of their way to help or offer assistance. The "Treatment Room" was very relaxing and excellent value for money. Lynda is a very talented and experienced therapist who went out of her way to accommodate us. Well worth treating yourself to a soak in the hot tub too.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior room is accessible for disabled and has its own conservatory and access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Lovely quaint hotel, nice clean newly refurbished rooms. Dog friendly but as it creaks I would upgrade to room that has easy access outside for my annoying dog that likes an early morning wee! Also worth upgrading to superior room to get a bath bit our shower was lovely! Will come again for sure...food is great too!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just got back from Combe House Hotel - after an amazing couple of days ! Beautiful boutique style rooms, all individually decorated ! We upgraded to a room with a bath ( as some only have showers) - room 2 - couldn't fault it ! No need to dine out as the restaurant is affordable and food is fantastic ! Perfect for a romantic getaway from it all break !

Room Tip: Room 2 won't disappoint !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, General Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words - it is very much appreciated by all the staff and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our little corner of the Quantock Hills in West Somerset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Combe house is a hidden gem that we could not fault, staff excellent, very nice breakfast, room clean and comfortable, good location for walking and touring,it's well worth going back just for the cream tea.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, General Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Raindodgers - thank you from all the team at the hotel for your support and kind words and we hope to see you again soon for another one of our 'Combe House Cream Teas'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a table for 3 and travelled a fair distance, the location is fine tucked away in the countryside. Unfortunately, for the day we booked they did not mention that a wedding reception was also taking place. This overshadowed any attention for the rest of the diners in the restaurant and bar. There were many mistakes, our orders went to other tables on three occasions, the food was very average and a little cold and the staff that served us were quite inexperienced and carefree ( one of them did not know how to open a bottle of wine) I wondered whether the more experienced staff were allocated to look after the wedding reception rather than the few guests in the restaurant which I suspect is not an uncommon practice. It was a lack lustre mediocre experience and one that will not be repeated again. By the way who ever took the photographs for the hotel web site did an excellent job as the actual visual experience of the interior of the hotel left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay with the folks at coombe house hotel. Warm, friendly hotel, extremely comfortable bed.

The hotel has a wonderful quirky character, slooping floors and wiggly corridors, my husband is 6'5 so we upgraded to a superior room to make sure he had headroom/space.

The setting is so peaceful and a wonderful location for exploring the quantocks and surrounding areas.

We ate in the hotel twice during our stay. The food was wonderful and excellent value, it was great to be able to kick off our boots and relax after a long day exploring Somerset.

Thanks everyone! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, General Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
It's always nice to welcome customers back to the hotel and to read your lovely comments about the hotel, staff and facilities gives us all a boost. Thank you so very much for 'spreading the gospel' and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.