We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great pub grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Full Moon at Rudge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Full Moon at Rudge to your Saves list
The Full Moon at Rudge
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower Rudge, Frome BA11 2QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Frome B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really question what some people expect for their money. This is a relatively unspoilt country pub with all the charm of genuine ageing that you only find in the real thing. We had room 11 in the separate accommodation building which was comfortable and clean, everything worked and being in the middle of the countryside, we had a very peaceful nights sleep. We had arrived in time for the Sunday Carvery at a bargain £10.95 for two courses if you are a resident, plenty of fresh veg, a good choice of well presented and cooked roast meats and a tasty vegetarian option for me. Still full at dinner so just had starters and sides, again tasty and honest food Brekkie was top hole with plenty of extras of everything available. All the staff were friendly and the welcome seemed sincere I really believe this place represents great value for money and would happily recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    23
    18
    7
See reviews for
39
51
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just come back after spending 2 nights at this wonderful hotel, which caters for couples, families and the single traveller. All the staff - cleaners waiter/waitresses, bar staff and receptionist were very friendly and helpful. The owners were there each day and joined in with any work that needed doing. Everybody worked as a team.The evening meals were outstanding. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast with cereals, fruit, freshly cooked croissants and a cooked breakfast. All the food is organic and sourced locally. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and from our room we had a wonderful view of The Westbury White Horse. The hotel is located within very easy reach of Longleat (make sure you book tickets through the hotel as you make a huge saving), Bath, Bristol and many other places in the South West. A fantastic hotel which we will definitely be returning to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frome,somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this pub for an evening meal with 5 others of my family, no one around when we arrived so had to go and find someone in the lower bar who eventullay said can i help you. i said i had a table booked in the garden area for six people at 8pm. i was taken out to the garden area where i had to put two table.benches together and there was nothing laid out on the tables. the waitress said she would come back to take the drinks and food order, nothing happened and after ten minutes i went inside to see what was happenning, they did not seem to be in any rush to do anything.Eventually another waitress said she would be out in a couple of minutes, which did not happen so again i went back in and she was just coming out. i realise there were others in the pub but they seemed to be getting sorted out ok.We ordered our meals the starters way over priced for what was served my sons young lady had sauted king prawns in thai green curry sauce when it came she had four small prawns in a very runny liquid with a little chopped onion this was £6.50, the other starters were only average portions for the price. Again the main courses were on par with some other pubs i have been too for price, but when they arrived the portions were very small, three of us had tempura battered fish , two with chips and i had new potatoes all served on a board no plate.It was a case of find the cod, the fish was so thin it was mainly skin and batter and not a very good size, it was supposed to be served with pea and mint puree this was spread on the board and dried up why not serve it in a pot?, i had 4 new pots. This dish cost £11.50, i would have got a better piece from my local chippie.NOT ONCE DID ANYONE ASK IF MEALS WERE OK. I will not be going back

Room Tip: Did not stay here evening meal only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We only stayed one night as we we were off to Longleat the next day and it was extremely handy. We were given a family room number 9 which initially seemed ok. We dumped bags off and went to get food in the pub as we got there quite late. The food and staff were lovely and we all enjoyed our meals. When we went back to our room I was quite shocked to see the state of the bathroom, it was like a grubby hospital bathroom. The Altro flooring was cracked and looked dirty the shower head and pipes just looked old, grubby and ugly, paint was peeling off the ceiling where an obvious wet patch could be seen and the blinds in the window were mouldy. It was set up as a wet room but by the time we all showered the water was nearly in the bedrooms as the shower seemed to be in the wrong place. We ended up using all the towels to mop up the flood. Also the extractor fan in bathroom wouldn't work. Anyway went to bed but didn't get much sleep as family in room above were noisy, floorboards creaked horrendously and could easily hear what was being said.. A real disappointment..we won't stay again. However breakfast was lovely. So to sum it up, we would eat there again but you couldn't pay me to stay again..at the price we paid I expect everything to be nice!!

Room Tip: Don,t choose room number 9!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Read mixed reviews before booking but booked anyway and very pleased we did. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food (evening meal and breakfast) was excellent and the accommodation clean and well appointed. Overall, a very pleasant stay and we would return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the full moon for three nights, one day at longeat, one day in bath and on the way home Stonehenge! The pub itself is great, a gorgeous country pub that has character and charm! The food was absolutely brilliant, we have had breakfast and evening meals here, and it has never failed to impress!! The staff are Friendly and accommodating and are more than happy to help!! The bedroom, a double bed in the main building of the pub is lovely, very comfy double bed, and yes the bathroom is slightly dated however it is all we needed and the shower had hot water in the morning, something I was a bit dubious about as the place was full! All in all a great location for things to do, quiet, a countryside location made all the better by the views!! A great place, really enjoyed our stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here whilst spending the day at longleat. Nice people hotel food is good, rooms are seperate to pub so quiet, in the countryside in small village but surprisingly busy. Room was quite big and reasonably well equipped, cost £95 for a sat night including breakfast so reasonable value. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 up a couple of flights of steep stairs but very quite with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Full Moon at Rudge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Full Moon at Rudge

Address: Lower Rudge, Frome BA11 2QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Full Moon at Rudge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Full Moon at Rudge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Full Moon Hotel Frome
The Full Moon At Rudge Frome, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Full Moon at Rudge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.