We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shame about the accomodation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Full Moon at Rudge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Full Moon at Rudge to your Saves list
The Full Moon at Rudge
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower Rudge, Frome BA11 2QF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Frome B&B and Inns
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, shame about the accomodation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We only stayed one night as we we were off to Longleat the next day and it was extremely handy. We were given a family room number 9 which initially seemed ok. We dumped bags off and went to get food in the pub as we got there quite late. The food and staff were lovely and we all enjoyed our meals. When we went back to our room I was quite shocked to see the state of the bathroom, it was like a grubby hospital bathroom. The Altro flooring was cracked and looked dirty the shower head and pipes just looked old, grubby and ugly, paint was peeling off the ceiling where an obvious wet patch could be seen and the blinds in the window were mouldy. It was set up as a wet room but by the time we all showered the water was nearly in the bedrooms as the shower seemed to be in the wrong place. We ended up using all the towels to mop up the flood. Also the extractor fan in bathroom wouldn't work. Anyway went to bed but didn't get much sleep as family in room above were noisy, floorboards creaked horrendously and could easily hear what was being said.. A real disappointment..we won't stay again. However breakfast was lovely. So to sum it up, we would eat there again but you couldn't pay me to stay again..at the price we paid I expect everything to be nice!!

Room Tip: Don,t choose room number 9!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    23
    18
    7
See reviews for
39
51
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Read mixed reviews before booking but booked anyway and very pleased we did. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food (evening meal and breakfast) was excellent and the accommodation clean and well appointed. Overall, a very pleasant stay and we would return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the full moon for three nights, one day at longeat, one day in bath and on the way home Stonehenge! The pub itself is great, a gorgeous country pub that has character and charm! The food was absolutely brilliant, we have had breakfast and evening meals here, and it has never failed to impress!! The staff are Friendly and accommodating and are more than happy to help!! The bedroom, a double bed in the main building of the pub is lovely, very comfy double bed, and yes the bathroom is slightly dated however it is all we needed and the shower had hot water in the morning, something I was a bit dubious about as the place was full! All in all a great location for things to do, quiet, a countryside location made all the better by the views!! A great place, really enjoyed our stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here whilst spending the day at longleat. Nice people hotel food is good, rooms are seperate to pub so quiet, in the countryside in small village but surprisingly busy. Room was quite big and reasonably well equipped, cost £95 for a sat night including breakfast so reasonable value. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 up a couple of flights of steep stairs but very quite with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at The Full Moon for one night to attend a friend's wedding. The reception was held there. On arrival the lady on reception was very friendly. We stayed in one of the rooms in one of the cottages in the courtyard. The room was well presented and clean. The shower was lovely, and the bed was very comfortable too. We had a lovely night's sleep, but I don't think anyone else was staying in the building with us. The floorboards were creaky and as we were upstairs, this might've caused a problem for someone staying below us, but as no-one else was there - I don't think this was an issue at the time. Food wise - we didn't have an evening meal there, but the afternoon and evening buffets we had at the wedding reception were lovely. A lot of the food was home-cooked and of local produce. We had breakfast the next day which was help yourself to cereal, fruit, juices etc... and a choice of croissants and full english breakfast and other choices too - and as a previous reviewer has stated, the bacon was lovely with proper rind!!! Again the staff were very friendly and the service was very good. I cannot comment on the swimming pool and we didn't get to use it, but overall it was a lovely stay. The area is very peaceful too. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Found this hotel on internet and it looked pretty good, so used it as a stopover for a trip to Longleat Safari Park, was very pleasantly surprised with the service from the landlord, very courteous gent, offered information about the local area, showed me the legendary White Horse hill from the pub car park; We stayed in accommodation opposite the pub, kind of a lodge looking building, Nice spacious, well decorated in classic style, hotel king rooms, also seems to be a bit of a farm but didn't see for myself, just 50 yds down the quiet rural road is a turning for a big country park, just wished I had more time to explore the very local area, but only booked 1 night, I was offered a Family room (at no extra charge) for my elderly Mum as it was on the ground floor of the lodge where we were staying, lovely big room big comfortable double bed, (fresh, clean linen) set of bunk beds in the room, loads of coffee, tea, biscuits. My Mum was cold because of he age and unseasonably cold weather in early April, the landlord put the heaters on full in her room and even supplied an extra portable radiator.
Also good spacious bathroom and a great shower, lots of piping hot water, fantastic.
Dinner was nice in the restaurant, In house local cured ham and pickle which was very tasty and generous portions, served with nicely dressed side salad, and chips a bit greasy but still yummy. Dinner quite reasonably priced.
Breakfast the next day was the only let down really, there were only a few people using the overnight accomodation but still the cook managed to overcook my English Fry up, oh well maybe they were having a bad day or something.
Overall lovely place to stay I would say at least Good*** accomodation. Attentive landlord, the bar seemed very country quaint but didn't use that facility.
So for the price I would say 64 pounds for a room is quite a lot of money, but the room was great, everything you would want and very comfortable, so worth that little bit extra .
Hope this helps when making a decision

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After booking online we arrived at this hotel at about 1900hrs, the reception was closed and so we had to find someone in the bar in order to check in. We we allocated a large double room in an exterior building, all seemed well (apart from a rather dirty bathroom) until the people upstairs started moving, talking or breathing. We heard absolutley everything, floor boards were creaking throughout the night and the walls were so thin full conversations could be heard - the tv was turned up loud to counter this! One of the reasons we booked this hotel was for a morning swim on the sunday but on arrival we were told that it wasnt available which was disappointing.

On the plus side the staff were helpful and gave us a £5 discount for the swimming pool and the breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Full Moon at Rudge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Full Moon at Rudge

Address: Lower Rudge, Frome BA11 2QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Full Moon at Rudge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Full Moon at Rudge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Full Moon Hotel Frome
The Full Moon At Rudge Frome, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Full Moon at Rudge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.