We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, shame about the weather!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moorleaze Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorleaze Farm
Save
You added Moorleaze Farm to your Saves list
Witham Friary, Frome BA11 5HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the weather!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family and I have just spent a wet week in Somerset staying in two of the Moorleaze Farm cottages. The accommodation was clean and fairly comfortable. My son and his family arrived a day before us and were welcomed by the owners, but I didn't get to meet them. The farm is reached via narrow country lanes and we had some difficulty finding our way. It is a long way from shops and it was nice to find welcome tea bags and milk so we could have a cup of tea as soon as we arrived! There is a good Sainsbury's on the road to Frome.
The swimming pool was a great asset and well used by some members of the family. Also, the games room was very nice with table tennis, pool, table football, sofas, plus books and dvd's to borrow. All in all I would say that it was a nice quiet place to spend a holiday with plenty of interesting places to visit fairly nearby. The highlight for us was a day at the Fleet Air Arm Museum - with two teenage grandsons in tow! We enjoyed a meal at The White Hart on our last evening, good food, pleasant staff, great beer (says my husband!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have just returned from a half term break at Moorleaze Farm and had a wonderful stay. The kids swam everyday, tried out their new tennis racquets on the hard court (with varying success) and used the games room. When not on site, we visited Bath, Bristol (highly recommend the SS Great Britain) and the Tank Museum at Bovington, which is about an hour and a half's drive away. The cottage (for 6 people) was warm, well-equipped, the beds really comfortable and we had everything we needed for a great stay. There is also a sauna which I didn't try out but I know some other guests did and they seemed to enjoy it. The country lanes through Trudoxhill to Witham Friary can be fun when you meet a tractor but you soon get used to it. There's a large Sainsburys on the outskirts of Frome which we used but some other guests got a delivery organised from Tesco which might be a good idea particularly if you're only staying for a long-weekend. I've called my review "addicted" ....this visit was our 9th - having first come in 2006 for a family triple birthday weekend! My 6 and 7 year olds are already begging to come back next year.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at these cottages in the summer & loved it so much we decided to try a Christmas break. Just wonderful. Especially for families but would suit all. Ian and Gill think of everything a family would need to have a wonderful holiday (kids of all ages) & nothing is too much trouble. The setting is stunning, local villages, pubs & attractions fabulous and have to be visited/tried if you can tear yourselves away from the facilities and grounds at the farm. The cottages are everything you could wish for. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All the cottages are great - go for what suits you and your budget, but the ones with the west facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Excellent family accomodation and fantastic facilities in a beautiful setting. Great places to visit nearby and many first class pubs/restaurants for meals out. - Make sure you visit Bull Inn at Hardway - best food in the land.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Well equipped spacious & comfortable accomodation, with a lovely pool and games room set in beautiful grounds and a stunning area - make sure you visit the Seymour Arms!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorleaze Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorleaze Farm

Address: Witham Friary, Frome BA11 5HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Frome
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Moorleaze Farm Frome, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorleaze Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.