We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Archangel

Archangel
1 King Street | Market Place, Frome BA11 1BH, England
+44 1373 456111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 75 Restaurants in Frome
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Archangel is well known for its magnificent 3 storey restaurant built into an old hay barn adjacent to the main house. The ancient walls are simply whitewashed and embrace a free-floating glass mezzanine cube that seats up to twelve people around a single table. Our chef always uses the best quality and locally sourced ingredients. Our seasonal menus are unpretentious and aim to serve every dining experience. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Used to be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

New bar area very dark, leaves just a few tables at the end of the room which now looks quite shabby in comparison to the rest of the room - rusty metalwork on the underside of the stairs and platform just add to the look of neglect along with the tired looking sofa and chairs.
Meal was not bad but the standard has dropped considerably from before. We would always eat here for lunch if we we in Frome but I doubt if we will be keen to use it again.
Toilets were shabby too, quite dark but not disguising the need of a bit of a refit.
I have been quite picky with the comments but that is because it is disappointing to find that the overall attention to detail in general has been mislaid.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    68
    63
    46
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a Mother's Day treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

haven't been to the Archangel for a long long time but on Mothers Day my daughter and son in law and small children treated my husband and I to lunch, ok it was 3.30 but they have small children who defy the laws of mealtimes! lovely staff, quick service, good food, and delicious pudding! Absolutely no complaints, the Archangel pulled out all the stops on a particularly busy day and at no time did we feel neglected or rushed over our meal. coffee came when it should and it was a very relaxed late lunch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Taster menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is the second time we have had the taster menu here & it is sheer enjoyment from start to finish,to many courses to go through, but very good value, & some good wines to compliment the food. We were there on a busy Saturday night (last night) & found service to be very good,with thanks to Tia for her endeavors & Chelsea & Charlie for their help.Special thanks must go to Eve & the brilliant chef Lee you did yourself proud.
I would have no hesitation in recommending you try this menu, at £65£-85 per head it well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a great starter and average main. The service really let it down though. We didn't get offered a drink after our first one. We waited about 20 mins for our pudding when there were only 2 other tables there, both of which were being fussed over!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to spend Mother's Day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Quite simply the best meal we've had in a long time. Great atmosphere, fast, efficient and friendly service, despite having the three course meal I didn't feel like I had overeaten. Would definitely recommend Sunday lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archangel also viewed

 

Been to Archangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archangel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.