We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disipointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornerhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cornerhouse to your Saves list
The Cornerhouse
1 Christchurch Street East, Frome BA11 1QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Frome B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very disipointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews decided to eat at this establishment, as I was the only one eating assumed that food would be prompt but had to wait for half an hour and was expecting something special for my £15 the beer was flat and the main meal that consisted of a stale role with a bit of mince disguised as a gourmet so sweet it tasted as if they had mixed up the pudding recipe with the pudding. Not sure if the other reviews had it lucky but my advice is to stay well away of the beer and food

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
29
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Cornerhouse to attend a wedding at Orchardleigh House. Great welcome from Tom who checked us in. Lovely spacious room, with good sized en-suite. Enjoyed a couple of drinks late afternoon, pleasant atmosphere with a number of locals. Not too busy for a Saturday. Good nights sleep followed by a smashing freshly cooked English breakfast. Would recommend as an ideal place to stay if going to Orchardleigh.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The room was fine, the food excellent and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately, on one of the nights that we stayed, there was live music. It was right underneath our room, or at least it felt like it. It was so loud that the floor shook. We couldn't talk to each other - we couldn't hear the television - we couldn't even read. We had been warned that there would be music which was fine but we were not warned that, should we not want to listen it, we ought to go out until 11.15 pm when it finished which we would have been happy to do. It didn't end at 11.15 pm either - by 11.35 pm we were losing the will to live. I emailed the hotel twice to mention this but have not had replies, even though my emails booking the hotel were received, so I have given up and suggest you check if there is live music before you visit. Shame because apart from that, it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sleeping above the pub is new experience . Helen was the main staff member who we dealt with. She even moved her own car so we could park, helped find a hotel for us to stay the night after we left. Good food especially the salad. Slept well. Stayed two nights instead of the planned one. Left smiling....do wish there were phones in the room to call the desk in case there was an emergency.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for one night after visiting nearby Longleat (15 mins away). It appears to be a family run/informal style B&B, our room was on the top floor which was the family suite, plenty big enough and decorated nicely. We made several requests to sterilise our baby bottles and refrigerate the milk, of which they were very helpful. The food was lovely, and great friendly atmosphere in the bar/restaurant. Breakfast was also good. Overall I would recommend the cornerhouse for a short stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. I cannot praise the staff enough, helpful, friendly and good at their jobs, nothing was too much trouble - a great asset to this hotel. The room was clean and had everything you needed for your stay. Toiletries, tea/coffee, biscuits all provided. Towels changed every day.

The food on offer here really is extremely good - in fact if it wasnt so far away i would come here for dinner every week! The chef is clearly very talented and deserves lots of praise for his hard work. Breakfast was a great selection with all the cooked items cooked to perfection and delivered within minutes of ordering. Cannot fault it. Would definitely plan to return at some point and am extremely happy to recommend this place to others. For the prices they charge you simply could not do better ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here after spending a day in bath. It's OK! that is all. Communal areas a pretty grotty and tired. Room we had was spacious and bathroom was standard. What improved my score for the cornerhouse was the breakfast - don't think I would have enjoyed 2 nights here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cornerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornerhouse

Address: 1 Christchurch Street East, Frome BA11 1QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Cornerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornerhouse Frome, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.