We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again another wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ralegh's Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ralegh's Cross Inn
Brendon Hill, Exmoor TA23 0LN , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Exmoor B&B and Inns
Okehampton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yet again another wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i and two friends have been back again(loss touch of number of times) and as usual we were looked after by the very friendly staff -the food was still excellent and a very good selection We still cannot understand the few hyper critical comments made in the recent past They just don't match our experiences on our many visits in recent years My wife and I are already planning a visit in March and a possible family get together in August.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
73
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights at the Rayelghs Cross Inn and have to say that it was fabulous. We stayed in the four poster room (112) and the bed was so comfy and the quilt was very warm. We travelled all around Exmoor and found very quaint villages with nice warm welcoming open fires and views to die for. This came from the receptionist (sorry i didnt get her name otherwise i would name her) who made us a list of villages and places to visit. Clare on reception at the weekends was a warm and friendly person. We found all staff helpful and pleasant. It turned out we went to this place about 15-18 years ago when the children were young and didnt know this was the place we booked. So please we went and was great value for money on their offers. Recommend Rayleghs Cross Inn and we will be returning but wont leave it for another 15 years lol. Only couple of minor problems: no shelter for the smokers, creaking floorboards (but you get use to them) and we had a great deal of snow and the hotel didnt clear the snow or grit the ice making getting out of the car park a major issue as well as walking to the hotel door. Apart from that we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Locals and non-locals always rate this restaurant for its excellent carveries.
Good value for money, yummie yummie!!
Location is stunning, staff always friendly and nothing is ever a problem
we have visitied this establishment quite a few times and can recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just come back from 3 nights away at Ralegh Cross Inn, Exmoor. We are returning customers to Ralegh Cross and will be going back in. We last stayed some 3 years ago but it is still the same friendly welcome, professional staff, clean and will do anything to assist. We choose Ralegh Cross to get away from it, relax and unwind. It would make an awesome base for walking or Mountain Biking as one road leads to Brendon Hills and Porlock beyond and other to Watchet/Minehead. The Inn also presents excellent value for money with a hearty breakfast available. I would say the breakfast is excellent but nevening food is still good but it has slipped somewhat from our last visit. The rooms are very clean and warm with everything you may need. If you are a stand up shower fan this may not be the option for you as it is a sit down shower in bath arrangement. Fine for 3 days but any longer would pose an issue. If you want to take your dog ask for an annex room, you will not be disappointed and can let them out in evening on grass nearby. Would also not hesitate to return with my young son as very safe and family friendly environment. Thanks to everyone at the Inn, like I said at the start it is excellent value for money and I would recommend to anyone looking for quality good value accommodation on Exmoor. Maybe other hotel owners could take a look and stop carrying on with the uneccessary 'rip-off' Briatin in the current climate!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the four poster (115) and it was very romantic but small double and hard bed. We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife and I and two friends have stayed on many occasions and we cant wait for our next visit already booked everything is so good staff,food and room all of a high standard would reccomend without reservation

Room Tip: No pool or spa after all you are almost on exmoor all rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had a long weekend break and we had such a great time! ALL staff at Raleghs Cross went out of their way for us... even when we came in for dinner at 9:20pm on Sunday they opened the kitchen for us so we can get something to eat. They made it a great weekend away!

Went to visit a few places around and one that still stick with us is the tallest tree in England (2009) about 15 minutes’ drive away.

Thanks again to all and as a last thought ...the 4 Poster bed and really comfy mattress is a must.

Room Tip: 4 Poster bed a must for a nice romantic touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding but the food was terrible and the breakfast was disorganised and one member of staff was very rude. The room needs updating as the toilet seat was falling off, sink cracked and decoration was urgently needed. we paid £80 which to me was far to much. Also as a smoker there was no shelter from the rain.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ralegh's Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ralegh's Cross Inn

Address: Brendon Hill, Exmoor TA23 0LN , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Exmoor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Exmoor
Also Known As:
Ralegh`s Cross Hotel Exmoor
Ralegh's Cross Inn Exmoor, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralegh's Cross Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ralegh's Cross Inn to your Saves list