We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Wednesday evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Exmoor Beastro

The Exmoor Beastro
44 High Street, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9DW, England
01398323712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Dulverton
Restaurant details
Bampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely Wednesday evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had our anniversary meal last night at the The Exmoor Beastro in Dulverton. it was the first we'd been there. A quirky establishment with matching owners. The chef, Alex, was superb and described each meal on the menu before we sat down. The food is essentially Mediterranean and is right up our street.

After a joint starter of cold pressed rapeseed oil with Dukkan and soda bread, Susan had a Spanish pork dish. I managed a chorizo and roasted pepper combo. Very tasty indeed.

Alex was good enough to show me the outdoor oven the food was cooked in (made locally in Bishops Lydiard).

A great night with two great owners, Alex and his partner; we will be back again very shortly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Truly Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

As soon as you walk through the double doors into the courtyard to see Alex, flamboyant in apron and bandana, tending dishes of delicious looking food in the wood-burning oven, you know that the meal is going to be a bit special - and indeed it is.

Alex and Fiona are enthusiastic and passionate about what they do; about using only the best ingredients and making them into food of superlative quality that is full of flavour. Alex speaks eloquently and with infectious fervour about his ingredients and his philosophy; the couple used to operate out of a sort of pop-up gourmet street-food van before setting up shop permanently in Dulverton late last year. Their menus change regularly according to what is fresh and in stock, and Alex guides you through his daily blackboard list in mouth-watering detail.

When you book to eat with them don't expect five-star pretentiousness. Instead you will be assured of a friendly welcome and served a meal using wonderful produce cooked to perfection that lingers long in the memory.

The small village of Dulverton is indeed fortunate to have several really good eating places; the Exmoor Beastro is a welcome and valuable new addition to their number - it deserves much success.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exebridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wow, for a totally different eating experience, this is a must! It is small, intimate and genuinely friendly. Have you ever had the chef personally take you through the menu in such detail and with such passion that you are left salivating? This is what Alex does and it is just so helpful to know exactly what you are ordering, where it is sourced, how it is cooked and presented.

The food is unpretentious (- nothing thrice stuffed here) but refreshingly different with rustic overtones, wonderfully cooked and presented. My wife and I have now enjoyed a number of super Beastro meals since its opening and all have been really first class. On the last occasion, we both had the bavette steak - cooked to perfection, melts in the mouth and just so succulent. I also have to mention the hand cut chips; you might think “chips, what can be so different about chips?” - believe me, when you have had Alex’s chips, you’ll want to go back just for these little beauties! He did explain how he prepares this humble accompaniment but it should really be a closely guarded family secret - they are simply THE BEST I’ve ever come across and at 62 years of age, that’s saying something. As I have asked her to run away with me, I must also mention Fiona’s meringues - oh yeah! In fact, have two desserts, this charming Irish Colleen’s profiteroles are simply orgasmic.

You’re now thinking that its going to cost the earth. WRONG, the total cost of our last meal was just £47 - however, we did take our own wine which accounted for £4 of the bill as a very modest corkage charge. As it happens, the Beastro has just obtained its license and is now building up a range of good quality wines at reasonable prices but you are still very welcome to “bring your own”.

In short, a small intimate restaurant, a genuine welcome, a thoroughly enjoyable and very different eating experience and very well priced to boot! It is already getting an enviable reputation so I do suggest that you book to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

we had been trying to find time to get to eat in this restaurant for some time , and im glad we eventually did, the food is simple but VERY GOOD , iv never been to a restaurant that doesn't have salt or pepper on the tables for seasoning, the chef is very passionate and confident in his cooking and he seasoned the dishes to perfection!!!, I would highly recommend this place and we will definitely return,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

As we're getting married on Exmoor very shortly my fiancee and I were in Dulverton a few months ago and noticed the beastro had opened, we had a look around and the owner, Alex, showed us the outside oven and explained his philosophy, unfortunately it's taken us awhile to be able to get a table due to its popularity. Well worth the wait though, the menu was explained to us and the inspiration behind the dishes and their enthusiasm for excellent local produce and lovingly cooked food is infectious. The food itself was magnificent with very generous portion sizes. Cannot wait to go back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exmoor Beastro also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Exmoor Beastro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Exmoor Beastro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.