We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stags Head Farm B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stags Head Farm B & B to your Saves list
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm | Chilly Bridge, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Dulverton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stag's Head Farm is the perfect base to explore all the national park has to offer. I had a truly fantastic time. Claire and Ray were so helpful and lovely, it felt like visiting family. The home homemade cakes in our room were a great touch and the grounds were wonderful to walk around. Fantastic they take dogs too. Will definitely return. Would recommend the Royal Oak in Winsford for dinner and one of Claire's packed lunches if you're going out walking for the day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a find! We stayed at Stags Head Farm B and B last weekend and echo all the comments below. Claire and Ray are natural hosts, warm, friendly and helpful; the rooms are very comfortable; the bathrooms spotlessly clean with great shower; breakfast was delicious - they thoughtfully made a vegetarian cooked breakfast for me. This was our first visit but I am sure it will not be our last.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Warm welcome, great rooms, lovely breakfast. Can't go wrong. We had home baked cake on arrival, home made cookies in the room, Claire recommended and booked a pub for dinner which turned out to be great too. Easy parking and good location for exploring Exmoor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in September, after careful consideration of where we wanted to go we chose The Stags Head, and so pleased that we did.
Claire and Ray are the perfect hosts attending to all our needs, and as mentioned by many, the booking of a table at the local pub/restaurant, was extremely thoughtful, and directions where given on how to find it, Ray even lent us his map book so we could navigate around the area.
I have travelled the world and it is rarely that i say i will return to a property but this B&B i cant wait to get back too.
The room we had was amazing and the bed the most comfortable i have ever slept in.
the bathroom was spacious too with the most amazing sized bath and shower.
The decorative touches through out this property are done with such great thought and the paintings that are on show are beautiful and its a shame that they are not for sale as the one at the top of the stairs is so beautiful.
Breakfast was fantastic and cooked perfectly, using locally sourced produce.
Ray was always at the ready with fresh milk for us when we returned at the end of a long day, and there was always a little treat of home made cake and biscuits waiting in our room.
I can not praise The Stags Head enough.
Well done to you both you are natural hosts.

Room Tip: ask for the Beech room with its super king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I have to have an annual 'fix' of Exmoor, but usually stay nearer to Lynton. However, because of something I needed to do, my husband Steve and I decided we would look for somewhere closer to Dulverton. An internet search brought up Stags Head Farm. We arrived with our son at 4.30 just as dusk was setting on a wet cold day.
We were greeted by Ray who led us into a lamp lit, warm and cosy house, and introduced us to Claire, who showed us to our rooms. Wow! The Large, beautifully decorated lamp lit rooms were so inviting. The en-suites had bath and shower.
Having been offered tea, we were shown into their private lounge with roaring fire. Claire bought in home made cake and left us to unwind after a very long day, after offering to call the local pub to reserve us a table for dinner.
With over an hour to get ready my husband suggested a warm bath to revive us. The water was piping hot, the bath so comfortable to lie back and relax (and what a treat, so many places only have shower rooms) and the toiletries added a touch of luxury. There were thick towels to dry us off.
Claire had put such lovely personal touches in place. A box of tissues, cotton buds, eye makeup pads in the bathroom, and a tray in the bedroom which had tea and coffee making facilities, a bottle of water and the piece de la resistance - homemade biscuits beautifully presented in a gift bag.
After returning from our meal out we climbed into such a comfortable bed, turned out the lights, and lay listening to the silence without street lights glaring in through the window, and then slept for 10 hours!
Now, often when staying in hotels and b&bs breakfast is served between 8 and 9 but here we had until 10 am before we needed to make an appearance, so we were able to enjoy a cuppa and a biscuit in bed before getting dressed to go down for breakfast, where there was a table laid out with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts, which we enjoyed whilst waiting for our delicious and locally sourced full English.
Sadly, we had only one night here, but the friendliness and comfort means that this will become an annual pilgrimage!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booking at the Stags Head Farm B&B was a very last minute decision as we decided to stay away on Exmoor and really treat ourselves.

To cut a long story short - On arrival, our hosts we're simply perfect. Welcoming, smiley and friendly - what more could you want? The lady recommended us to some of the local places to eat close by, AND BOOKED US A TABLE! It's the little things that really do mean the most.

The B&B was exactly to my taste, country cottage decorated lovely and the slate floors.

The room itself was also lovely and I had the bests night sleep in a long time, despite the wind, rain and thunder! (this made our stay even more cosy!)

Breakfast was a plenty and delicious! Great location.

One of the cleanest, cared for places I have ever visited. The efforts put in by the owners really shines through.

And there... That's my review :) Try it for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After an eventful journey...a warm, friendly welcome-home made cake and a great cuppa-everything from the china, home made biscuits, bedding to towels....perfect. One night was however not enough so will definately be coming back very soon. Claire and Ray make you feel part of their family....so i have invited us back for Christmas!!! You will find no better B & B i'm sure. Thanks- Sharon and Jhon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stags Head Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Farm B & B

Address: Stags Head Farm | Chilly Bridge, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re a small, family run B&B in the heart of Exmoor National Park, Somerset. We have recently lovingly refurbished our grade II listed building to create a contemporary, yet cosy, rural retreat set in seven acres of land.All of our bedrooms are en-suite, with powerful showers and baths. All rooms have either kingsize or super-kingsize beds, fresh coffee and homemade cakes. Nearby Dulverton has many wonderful pubs, cafes and restaurants and is less than 10 minutes drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stags Head Farm B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stags Head Farm B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.