We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantivy

Tantivy
12-16 Fore Street, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Dulverton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Refreshingly lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've been a visitor to Dulverton for 30 years or more and I've seen this lovely business change and evolve. The cafe is a lovely addition and this was my second visit.

It was a lovely day and there was plenty of seating inside and out. The little courtyard has some interesting historical features - as does the floor of the cafe itself.

I only had a pot of camomile tea - no food. But it was served by efficient and friendly staff.

I noticed that the other visitors were being very well fed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place for a light lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We visited here on bank holiday Monday, this is a small cosy cafe, with a nice choice of light lunches and nice coffee, the place was clean and the staff helpful! This cafe is at the back of a small shop selling local produce, lovely town to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheddon Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Come here fairly regular, the coffee (Origin I think) is always really nice, the sandwiches/light meals are always very plentiful. There is free WiFi which offers a good signal (no weak areas), the staff always seem quite courteous and attentive - do visit!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice tea rooms and cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere and a generous pot of tea. Cakes were a little dry, but perhaps that's to be expected towards the end of the day.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

i am local, all produce sourced locally and great atmosphere and gifts and goodies to buy too a must if in Dulverton

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantivy also viewed

Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Tantivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.