We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dulverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George Inn
Save
You added The George Inn to your Saves list
Brompton Regis, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Dulverton B&B and Inns
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like going home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We returned to the George while visiting family in the village. it's a great period pub.
Paul, Trish, Huckleberry and the rest of the staff made us feel as welcome as ever. Breakfasts were brilliant. I'm sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This 16th century free house, restaurant and inn is a bit off the beaten track unless you are familiar with Somerset and visit Exmoor regularly. In fact, if you're a local, this is probably 'your pub' because the beer choices are great and the food honest and hearty! But for a pair of wandering tourists, it was literally a breath of fresh air! Our bedroom looked out over the village and fields and the views were simply stunning. The George is delightfully rustic (our bedroom is reputed to be haunted by a ghost) but we loved the whole ambience, sagging, creaky floors and all. Paul and Trish were fantastic hosts - jovial, chatty, and knowledgeable and they made us feel not only very welcome, but also let us feel that we were a part of their community. If we'd stayed longer, I like to think my husband might have snagged a spot on one of the local Skittle teams!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We know the pub & area as my brother lived in Brompton Regis 10yrs ago, we had to visit the village recently for a family anniversary and although the pub has changed hands, it's still a great place, Paul & Trish are superb hosts and June the chef cooks like your mum does/did, I can highly recommend the lamb pie.
Rooms are comfortable, breakfast buffet was plentiful, I'm sure tripadvisor readers can imagine the pleasure from slicing your own bread from an Exmoor crusty loaf for toasting, then covering it in dark Exmoor marmalade with rum, was a great end to the first meal of the day.
Pick an evening when Ken, Barry & Martin are propping up the bar and you'll hear many local stories including some of a Lancastrian who became an unexpected part of the community.
Great place, great atmosphere and a great part of the British Isles, if you want peace and quiet, a place where your office can't reach you and where your Blackberry won't beep at you, you could do worse than spend a few days in this sleepy little hamlet.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, big, good showers and facing the sunrise, just mind your head on the low beams i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanquhar, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

What a warm and friendly place to stay especially if you have a dog. Everywhere spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great and the hosts made us feel like long lost friends. All the other guests were relaxed and friendly as were the locals using the bar. Fantastic cask ales served. A great place to unwind and we would definately go back. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

If you like the countryside, peace and quiet and meeting friendly local residents. If you like the perfect full English breakfast. If you like an olde world pub with two perfect hosts, try this Inn. We loved it for all that it offered. WE will go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Brompton Regis, Dulverton, Exmoor National Park TA22 9NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dulverton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dulverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.