We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location, great views and pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Prime location, great views and pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself stayed here for one night, en route to Cornwall. We selected the hotel, as it was close enough to the M5 for a quick stopover, but also far enough away from the motorway for a peaceful nights rest. The hotel is in a prime position, with beautiful views over the estuary from the bar, restaurant and some of the bedrooms, (although we weren't lucky enough to get a bedroom with a sea view). The staff were all very pleasant and efficient, especially the cheery receptionist. There is also a nice little garden outside with stunning views, but sadly we arrived too late in the evening to enjoy it! Our bedroom was comfortably furnished, with all the usual amenities that you would expect and the shower room was clean, with plenty of lovely fluffy white towels! Sadly my meal in the bar was completely inedible, although my husband was quite satisfied with his. On reflection maybe I should have complained about the quality of my food, but didn't bother, as on the whole I was perfectly satisfied with everything else. As we were going to continue our journey the following morning, we decided to add breakfast onto our room rate and although we both had a reasonably hearty breakfast, my only criticism would be that it was a tad pricey, compared to the great rate that we got for our room. On the whole, we would certainly consider stopping off there again, as the location, staff and the hotel itself was certainly more than adequate for our needs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear JoolzTrecker

Thank you for your recent review. I was very pleased to read that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed our hotel and that the staff helped make your stay that little more enjoyable and memorable.

I was a little disappointed to read that you decided not to inform us of your feedback regarding your bar meal as we would have certainly addressed and rectified any problems to ensure you had an enjoyable dining experience. I was however glad to read that your husband enjoyed his meal and that you both took the opportunity to take breakfast and enjoy the stunning views out over the Seven Estuary.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel and should you require accommodation in the area again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee, we would also like the opportunity to compensate you for your bar meal and offer our personal apologies. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    227
    94
    40
    18
See reviews for
92
259
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For anyone considering a wedding in the South West, I would urge you to book here. Our custom-built package was fantastic value for money, and the wonderful staff ensured the day ran smoothly. Our guests were amazed at the hotel's grandeur and its stunning location and views, and it was the perfect venue with brilliant food to make for a wonderful day. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, for anything from lunch, a weekend away, or a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear samborakid

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments regarding our hotel, we are delighted that you had ‘The Most Wonderful Wedding’ and we wish you all the very best for your future together.

Our hotel is indeed a period property with many traditional features and we pride ourselves on maintaining the original grandeur, character and charm of such a wonderful Victorian building. This coupled with our idyllic location does make for some spectacular wedding day photographs.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The staff were very friendly in the walton Park Hotel. The rooms especially bathrooms were very clean. The beds were comfortable and we did sleep well. The hotel is a little dated and battered in places but the overall ambience is quite nice.

Our daughters shared a twin room which was a very nice room. No complaints there. (Room 419) Our double room (402) however was not a very pleasant room. It was quite small and felt like a spare room which the manager might be trying to make use of. It was short of a seat for the second guest. It was missing a stool to sit at the dressing table so that I had to go down onto my knees in order to apply my makeup and style my hair. A full length mirror would also have been appreciated. In the morning as we were getting up, there was a clattering of a ladder outside our window...when I looked out a man was attempting to climb onto the flat roof (over the hotel entrance). He apologised to me and disappeared.

We did not want to pay £10 for breakfast nor £7 for a continental breakfast especially as we have two teenage daughters with tiny appetites, who will only ever eat cereal or toast and never both. Therefore we visited Tiffin at 11 The Beach and had the most wonderful breakfast for a price more appropriate and reasonable to our family needs.
If necessary I would stay again, mostly because there is limited competition within Clevedon and because the staff were so pleasant.

Did you find this review helpful? YesNo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just spent one night at the Walton park and will definitely be returning ,fantastic position,great location pleasant attentive staff good size room we had room 204 with views looking over to Wales ,although the hotel is a little tired,it's still looks grand and work is on going to update it, no complaints, dinner was good buffet breakfast a bit hit an miss.dog friendly which is an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Walton Park several times and it's always been a pleasant experience. The rooms are tidy and the staff are lovely. Although the breakfast is not that great. It's a buffet style , which is fine but apart from the sausages, it was very poor. I would stay here again but would go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Came here for a night on business as the hotel looked traditional, old and some may say typical of the Best Western brand. We were greeted ok by staff, I then asked directions which seemed a slight bit complicated and replied with a sorry as to ask a part of the directions again. This was greeted with a "if you didn't listen I'm not telling you again"... erm great.. thanks... I'll not be coming back.

Don't get me wrong the views are really really good, we however came in a heatwave, had a terribley rude receptionist and no fans in the room. Also, no cold water in the bathroom only boiling hot, in the middle of a heatwave !

Breakfast was ok, but the whole visit ruined by the service section, essentially why people come to hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Walton Park Hotel as part of a wedding party and really could not fault anything. During our stay everything ran like clockwork. Our room (208) was lovely and did have a sea view. The rooms are really spacious and the beds...well, we could have slept all morning, and our friends said the same too.
Wonderful and generous buffet style breakfast. It was a shame to have to leave as early as we did as we would have liked to have stayed around a bit longer to enjoy the feeling of being on holiday, and of being pampered!
If you're at the hotel in the evening it's nice to walk down to the beach, only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Not sure which are best but ours was lovely...206 was highly spoken of too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel

Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.