We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family weekend. Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best family weekend. Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Every now and then my wife, her 6 brothers and sisters, spouces, kids and grandchildren get together. This year there was 50 of us who spent the weekend here. The main room they provided was great, the food they dished up was very tasty and the service we got, shown by every member of staff was beyond excellent. Friendly, personal and great value.

I heartily recommend this hotel to everyone.

And it's position, views and Clevedon in general couldn't be improved

Room Tip: All are good but the ones overlooking the Bristol Channel have exceptional views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your weekend with us and found our hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout your stay.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to wecomong you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    227
    93
    39
    18
See reviews for
92
257
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice location stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed longer.However we was travelling around the area . Then stayed in a hotel in Bath costing more money but the standard was no where near as good at the Walton Park Hotel .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were all delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel, it's location and your experience all excellent. I have passed on your comments to all staff that helped make your stay so enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Nice location overlooking estuary. Some updating has been done, but further work needs to be done to bring it to Best Western standards that we have experienced elsewhere. Bedroom was good, bathroom a little small. Breakfast on our second morning was very hit and miss. Various food items kept running out, even bread. Eventually bread was brought from the freezer. We have been to other Best Westerns and found them to be far superior in service and decor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were glad to read that you found the hotel and location welcoming with its stunning views out over the Seven estuary, across to South Wales. Many of our guests positively comment on our location and the vistas that our public areas offer.

I was surprised to read your comments regarding breakfast service, during a busy breakfast we replenish the items as quickly as possible to ensure all guests a full selection of breakfast items. Please accept my apologies if this was not the case during your second morning.

I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that we operate an on-going refurbishment program of the hotel and facilities throughout the year. As you will be able to read from previous reviews our staff our always highly praised for their customer service and also many guests enjoy the period charm and grandeur the hotel offers including all its traditional features.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had our Wedding at The Walton Park Hotel on 12 January 2013. Pat and all the staff made all our guests very welcome. The day it self went so smoothly we were left with nothing to worry about! Any problems or hiccups that arose (as they do on days like these!) were resolved without any flap or panic, they could even accommodate our Large Munsterlander dogs and involve them in the Wedding Ceremony!

We cannot praise and thank ALL the staff at The Walton Park Hotel enough....excellent just doesn't sound good enough!

We enjoyed the occasion so much we're considering the venue for our joint 50th birthday celebrations next year!

Lindsey & Pete

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that thoroughly enjoyed your wedding at the hotel and found the staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. I have passed on your comments to all that helped make your day so enjoyable and memorable.

We try to make each wedding as individual as possible and accommodate any special requests whenever we can, on this occasion ensuring the dogs were present at the wedding ceremony was our pleasure.

Many of our Wedding Couples return to celebrate other family events - anniversaries, christenings and birthdays, we look forward to helping you organise your joint 50th Birthday celebrations next year.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A wonderful Victorian building with quaint gated lift - still holds charm though. Very clean. Staff Fantastic - nothing too much trouble! Been to many dinners, functions and weddings here - including my own! Pat and Paddy run an excellent friendly hotel.

Room Tip: view over Bristol Channel to Wales nicer side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that once again your experience here at the Walton Park Hotel was fantastic. I have passed on your comments to all staff members that helped make your experience so enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and ware a little worried as it was a last minute booking. Reception as we arrived was superb, nothing was too much trouble.We went to our room that although not overlooking the sea was clean and a good standard of decor. Our friends had a sea view room that was lovely.
We ate in the bar and simple food that was well cooked. I had tapas that was very good.
the stay was great but the staff made it superb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and staff superb. It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us and thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a nice hotel in a fantastic location. I had a sea view room which did have a view to die for. The service was efficient and friendly, food was good and the rooms were a very good size. And the elevator was straight out of Poirot - it worked perfectly but looks Victorian - just had to take a picture. Overall a great place to stay for business and pleasure.
The only down side was trying to get a stable temperature in the shower but I managed.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth selecting - the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotels location fantastic, with picturesque views out across the estuary. Many guests comment on our traditional lift and we believe it only adds to the overall guest experience of such a grand period property.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Walton Park Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel

Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.