We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel - if a little dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel - if a little dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a 3 day break to see the area . We had a fantastic view from the room , and breakfast was simple but very good indeed . We had dinner 2 nights - one meal was ok but the second was excellent . All pubs and restaurants in Clevedon are 15 mins walk away . Everything is a but creaky and needs some paint , but for value for money the hotel is very good indeed with very friendly and helpful staff .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us that you thoroughly enjoyed dining in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. The hotel is a traditional period property with large rooms which many of our guests enjoy and comment on. We also operate a rolling refurbishment schedule so that we can offer a comfortable and enjoyable stay time after time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    229
    94
    39
    18
See reviews for
92
260
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spent one night recently at the hotel. It is a traditional hotel, slightly out of date now. However we had a nice dinner and a great breakfast. The room was large with views over the estuary, clean and tidy with a good bed. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to dine with us for both dinner and breakfast. The hotel is a traditional property with many period features and many bedrooms boast magnificent views across the estuary. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just had another weekend at the Walton Park, sadly without our dog - he died recently. Staff were very sympathetic. Food and welcome were up to their normal standards. Agreed the hotel is a little dated but it is well-cared for and very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we were glad to see you return once again. It is always good to read when our guests enjoy our traditional, period hotel and take advantage of the restaurant. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

£26 cheaper than the Premier Inn in Portishead -and I came away having thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Yes, dated in areas but not in a bad way I had a great welcome from reception, big room, king size bed, free wi-fi, spotlessly clean everywhere and a sea view. Bar meal was very good - left before 7am so didn't have breakfast. Will be back soon...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our bar and lounge menu. Many guests comment on our friendly reception team and large rooms with views out across the estuary. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. Had a great time. Staff were brilliant and very helpful. Breakfast is very nice and plenty of it. Rooms are nice with a wonderful view over the severn estuary to Wales. Will certainly stop here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our plentiful breakfast service. Many of our guests comment on our spectacular views across the estuary and most of our bedrooms and public areas offer such a view. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you're planning to arrive after midnight, take a torch! Car park is down a ramp and pitch black. The downstairs communal areas had just been given a lick of paint (still wet) presumably for the upcoming Wedding Fayre. We were warned by the night porter to avoid touching the paintwork, a difficult task when carrying luggage. Our room was spacious enough with a view of the channel, but was seriously outdated and shabby, with a layer of dust on the furnishings and a tatty bathroom without a decent shower (shower head attached to the bath taps). On the plus side the Free WiFi was a bonus, and the staff were apologetic and efficient. Workmen are resurfacing the entrance driveway this morning, again presumably for the Wedding Fayre, so not sure how we are going to get out of the car park...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was glad to read that you found the external aesthetics of the hotel in keeping with this type of period property and that you took advantage of our complimentary WiFi. As with all period properties we operate an on-going maintenance and refurbishment schedule to ensure all the facilities are kept to our high standards for all guests to enjoy. I would like to assure you that we have addressed the outside lighting (faulty timer switch) and that the resurfacing of the drive has been completed, which has enhanced the grandeur of the hotels entrance. I have passed your comments onto the housekeeper and asked the maintenance team to investigate and update the shower facilities in that particular room. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel and should you wish to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact us directly when we will be only too pleased to offer you a complimentary room upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garforth leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night requesting a room with a sea view. On arrival we were told that due to a wedding party all the sea view rooms were taken and we were given a room over looking the road. To be fair about this, the receptionist told us that this room would be better for us as it would be a lot quieter due to the disco at night due to the wedding. The room it self was large comfortable and very clean with hostess tray, & trouser press, & flat screen tv , & clock radio etc.
We found the hotel quiet warm and comfortable, if a little dated, ie squeaky floor boards but this did not distract from the general ambiance of the hotel. We found the hotel staff to be pleasant and friendly. The hotel has nice bar which over looks the Bristol Channel. As we did not stay for evening dinner, we can not comment on this. We did however have breakfast on Saturday morning, the highlight of this was sat by the window enjoying the fabulous view. Breakfast it self was ok, full english and continental, with fresh tea & coffee etc.
Morning check out was quick and fuss free. Over all nice friendly hotel with great views if you get a room with a sea view.
Would we return probably yes. Would we recommend this hotel yes.

Room Tip: Any room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our breakfast service. Many of our guests comment on our scenic views across the estuary and most bedrooms offer such a view. The hotel is a traditional property with many period features that our guests really do enjoy and find in keeping with this type of classic property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel

Address: Wellington Terrace, Clevedon BS21 7BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Walton Park occupies a stunning cliff top location and is charmingly nestled in two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Severn Estuary and Welsh Hills. Originally built in the late 19th century, the Walton Park has been sympathetically restored and has now developed into Clevedon's Premier Hotel. Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the award-winning Somerset Restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority with magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview colour TV, and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clevedon
Clevedon Best Western
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel Clevedon, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.