We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike thanks for everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Campbell's Landing

Campbell's Landing
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clevedon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campbell's Landing
Save
You added Campbell's Landing to your Saves list
21-23 The Beach | Clevedon, Clevedon BS21 7QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Oss, The Netherlands
1 review
“Mike thanks for everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Campbell's Landing for over 6 nights and in 1 word it was PERFECT.
In total we were in the UK with group of 16 persons, but we all stayed at different places in and around Clevedon. But most of the time we were with a big group at Campbell's Landing!

The hotel has got a new owner and he is really great, Mike thanks for everything.

The rooms are big and clean, every day we get clean towels and they clean up the room. The furniture is not modern, but I liked it the way it is.

Because of our agility competitions we need to get out of bed very early, and breakfast at 6 no problem for Mike.

We have dinner at the Moon & Sixpence and also Harpers inn and the food was awful, then we have dinner at Campell's Landing, wauw that men (Mike) can cook!! We have dinner with 12 to 16 persons and everything we have was great, the rump steak, spaghetti, thai curry, beef burger, chips and more . . . and also for a normal price! On the last evening he made for us a typical Englisch meal, GREAT!! And for a group of 12-16 persons no problem for Mike!!

Give Mike a change and check out his lovely hotel!!

If I will be in that area again I will stay at Campbell's landing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    1
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed with 8 friends at this hotel for 5 nights with our dogs.OK the hotel is not a 5 star interior , but we where made very welcome and the hotel is clean and comfortable.The owner Mike did evrything to make our stay good for us and boy can he cook,the meals where great. I would certainly stay there again if I was in the area.hanks Mike we really enjoyed ourselfs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed there after a wedding in Clevedon and found them to be very accommodating with our requirements, with amazingly personal service. Exactly what I'd hope for in a privately owned hotel.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I'll try to stick to the facts...

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2010. The day before we were due to arrive we called to ask what time we could check in and were told any time after 10am. We showed up at 11am and were told that the cleaner hadn't turned up and our room wasn't ready. As we needed to get ready for an event that day they let us in, gave us fresh towels and then cleaned the room in the afternoon while we were out.

The next morning we had arranged breakfast for 9am, however when we went downstairs a few minutes after everything was locked up and no sign of life. One of the 15 or so other guests (we think they were the Philipino crew of a ship), who were hanging about in the hallway said that the manager was still sleeping and we would have to wait. We wandered off to try to find breakfast elsewhere, but a few minutes later from the street noticed that the doors downstairs had opened. The manager appologised for oversleeping and took our breakfast order which arrived about 9:30.

When we came back on the second evening we walked in, saw one of the other guests / ship crew peeing with the room and bathroom door open, and found that our room hadn't been cleaned, and as we had to leave early the following morning we cancelled breakfast as we didn't feel comfortable trusting the manager to get up in time.

The bed looked clean enough once it had been made, but the windows were filthy, the bathroom had blue drip marks in the sink and shower, there were holes in the bathroom ceiling where an extraction fan had been installed. The walls had stains on them, and what appeared to be damp area of approx 1m2 in the corner of the ceiling.

There was a kettle, with tea and coffee sachets, but no mugs.

When the iron and ironing board we had requested had arrived we had to scrape the dirt off to avoid ruining a clean shirt.

When we asked for a hairdryer we were told that there was none and we were the first to ever ask for one.

To be fair to the manager, when I confronted him about all this he didn't try to absolve responsibility or explain things away, and agreed to knock 40% off the bill with no arguments, however I would not go back to this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We booked this hotel, due to it's proximity to the sea-front and pier, as we were sailing on the Balmoral during the day of our overnight stay.
On arrival, we were greeted by a bubbly young lady who was very pleased to talk to us as we the only people in the place...
We know why. It is dirty, tired, tatty and in need of a serious amount of TLC.
The room was reasonably clean, but sparsly furnished. Bizzarely, there was a brand-new LCD TV in the room, but placed on such a low table it couldn't be seen from the bed.
The old TVs were left dumped in the hallway outside. A noisy air-con unit was placed outside the bathroom window, and could be heard in the bedroom.
There was no food available on the Saturday night, but breakfast the next morning was just about ok.
The best we can hope is that the owner has just taken it over, or is about to sell it to a new owner, and the work required to restore the hotel - which certainly has character and potential - to a reasonable standard. Until then, we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campbell's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell's Landing

Address: 21-23 The Beach | Clevedon, Clevedon BS21 7QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clevedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clevedon
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Campbells Landing Bristol
Campbells Landing Hotel Bristol
Campbell's Landing Clevedon, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campbell's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.