We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moon & Sixpence

Moon & Sixpence
15 The Beach, Clevedon, England
+44 1275872443
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 47 Restaurants in Clevedon
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived about ten minutes before they stopped serving food on a Sunday evening and we had a 4 yr old with us. There was a sign saying there would be at least a 45 minute wait for food but we decided to chance it. The food arrived within 25 minutes and was well presented and well coked. It was good value for money too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The view of the sunset over the pier was splendid and topped our visit off nicely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    48
    26
    11
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Under staffed and chaotic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had dinner here with friends before a weekend away. They were very understaffed, several jobs being advertised on door as we entered. The service was obviously very slow, ordering took forever, the food took forever and was average at best and the poor waitress was rushed of her feet. Perhaps when they are fully staffed things may improve.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Basic but good pub food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second visit to this pub in two years and we received the same friendly welcome and service. This time we had an excellent ploughmans lunch which was first class. There are so many pubs nowadays that only do 'posh' food and it is not always easy to get this type of lunch so we were well satisfied. The only niggle was the small amount of bread served as it was not adequate. Overall it was value for money and we would go again when next in Clevedon.

.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“jewel of clevedon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fabulous pub!!! lovely staff awesome food!! so friendly loved every minute. We had 2 nights eating here as it was soo good we came back the next night! Keep up the good work guys

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Shabby pub, ignorant manager, average food for prices charged NOT FOR FAMILIES”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is badly run pub, dissaponting. We waited almost hour for our food, complained but manager didn't really care. Don't waste your time and money. Go elsewhere!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon & Sixpence also viewed

 

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon & Sixpence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.