We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Inn

Kings Head Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kings Head Inn to your Saves list
Kings Head Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   12 High Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Cannington B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights and we had no problems. The bar staff were very helpful for anything that we needed. Made everyone in the bar feel welcome. We had no problems while we stayed there so allin all i would highly recommend this hotel to friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A very pleasant stay in a lovely old village inn, en suite rooms, with a beautiful beer garden, managers made us feel very welcome and were very helpful to us, we could not fault our very enjoyable stay at "The Kings Head", thanks everyone !

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 , overlooking the lovely garden, but we are sure the other rooms would be as nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, the managers were friendly, the bar staff very helpful, the rooms are a little tired and could do with a spruce up, the meals were great value! It's just basic pub grub which is fine, I had fish and chips and my partner had faggots and mash, which were locally sorced, the beer garden needs tidying a bit but on the whole a pleasant experience and would stay again, but the rooms do need a refurb

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkan, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

local business man. asked if we could take our dog in pub no go, no problem. ordered food from friendly bar staff. my dog wouldn't of eaten it... one customer in pub. and they wonder why..beer was fine staff friendly then they serve up food of such poor quality you would not go there again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Travelling down to Minehead we stopped at The Kings Head for lunch. Having read the reviews we were a little uncertain, however we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly, the food was excellent, hot food, hot plates and presented beautifully, tasted great.
Thank you for a very welcome break and we shall return again when we pass that way again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Being reasonably local we were looking forward to this re-opening following a refurbishment. We didn't realise it was now owned by the landlord of the "Friendly Spirit" also in Cannington. I'm sorry to say it was a real dissapointment being almost a replica (food that is) of their other pub, which we have never enjoyed! It is really a 'Brewers Fayre' but privately owned and more expensive. My steak was overpriced and under cooked and my wife's chicken about the same. Wine was also quite expensive and not particularly good! Atmosphere was at an all time low and we found the staff to be curt and lacking a smile. Great pity-could be a nice place. Will NOT be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to the friendly spirit for a meal (fantastic) we got talking to our waitress and were informed that the owners also owned the kings head so we thought we would give it a go .
What can I say we wish we hadn't !!
Cold plates the one thing I hate, the service was terrible and the cold food not much better sorry to say but a total disappointment after the lovely meal we had at the friendly spirit perhaps the chef there should go and give them some pointers !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Inn

Address: 12 High Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cannington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kings Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.