We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malt Shovel Inn

Malt Shovel Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Malt Shovel Inn to your Saves list
Malt Shovel Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Blackmore Lane, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2NE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Cannington B&B and Inns
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Distinctly average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had family meal here in June and it was disappointing considering the local reputation. Starter was wedges with bacon, mushrooms and cheese but the wedges were hard and had a very much microwaved feel and taste. The steak was average, nothing more, nothing less. Can`t remember the dessert so it was obviously unforgettable! My wife ordered a floater coffee which was only warm on arrival. Upon complaining, the same drink was returned only hotter while the cream and coffee were mixed together like a conventional drink! The attitude of the waitresses also left a lot to be desired. Shame as it`s fairly local but needless to say we won`t be returning anytime soon. There are better places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
15
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Room needed a good clean and hoover, spiders and cobwebs everywhere. Towels poor quaility and had a terrible smell. No hair dryer. Staff friendly. Good pub food and breakfast. Pub was closed when we arrived at about 5pm so we spoke to one of the staff in the kitchen who was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The room on first impression looked very nice, we soon noticed that it was very basic, the bath towels had an unpleasant smell about them, we had been touring on a motorbike with limited luggage so i was very disappointed to find no hair dryer. The bed was most uncomfortable, every time you turned in the night a spring would pop up, the mattress was very thin as were the pillows. We had the Carvery in the evening which was lovely as was the breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed overnight on our way to Cornwall,very quiet location, but short distance to the motorway.
the chalet was clean and comfortable , very friendly staff,who went out of their way to make sure our short say was a good one, The food was out of this world for the price, it was the steak night
2meals for 18 pounds,the steaks done as we had ordered ,my wife had ice cream and I had apple pie crumble for deserts I have to say I over faced my self on the size of the portions,and had to leave half the beer I had ordered,The breakfast was also good, overall well done chef and staff, the only downside was the 6 pm booking in time,we arrived early and had to wait a hour before we could get into our room we would satay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

On arrival staff member was very friendly and helpful, telling us where we could visit nearby etc. The room was dissappointing - it looked like it hadn't been hoovered or dusted as there was bits on the floor and a dead fly on the windowsill which remained there for the 3 days we were there, despite the room being "cleaned" after the first night. The bed was uncomfortable (we could feel the springs!) and for some reason there were plastic cable ties around the edge of the bed frame which we couldnt help grazing our legs on as we got out of bed. The TV screen was green and even though we adjusted the settings, after a few minutes it went back to being green. On telling the staff, they said they didn't know anything about it but didn't try to fix it. In their defence they did offer us another room. The main positive was the food - we had 2 meals at the restaurant which were great and a great steak night on the Friday night. Overall, we would recommend going for the food but look for somewhere else if you need somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I together with 15 friends were booked into The Malt Shovel Inn by our friends who got married at nearby Durleigh on Sat 9th June. Upon arrival we were made very welcome by Hannah (landlady) who kept the bar open after 3pm so our friends could have a drink on arrival as we had all travelled from Kent. We were booked into chalet 2 a double room which was extremely clean and provided all the amenities we needed for our 2 night stop. Friday night we all ate in the restaurant and enjoyed their excellent food. Sat morning began with an amazing full English breakfast prior to the wedding. All the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. I cant recommend the Malt Shovel Inn highly enough, from arrival to leaving we were made to feel special. The only down side was we had to leave before the famous Sunday carvery for journey home, but maybe next time. We will be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just returned home, after staying here for a couple of nights in the attached chalets. All I can say is 'What a great place.' The chalets were perfect. We received a warm welcome from the staff, especially from the couple from Italy (sorry we cannot recall their names). Both the breakfast and evening meals were excellent. We could not fault our stay and highly recommend a stay or visit for the excellent meals and selection of beers

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malt Shovel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malt Shovel Inn

Address: Blackmore Lane, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Cannington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cannington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malt Shovel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Malt Shovel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malt Shovel Hotel Cannington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malt Shovel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.