We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food, fab service, warm and friendly with beautiful decor and stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clavelshay Barn

Clavelshay Barn
North Petherton, Bridgwater TA6 6PJ, England
01278 662629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab food, fab service, warm and friendly with beautiful decor and stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

You could not wish for a warmer welcome than from Sue the owner and her restaurant manager Alex. The food is simply delicious with the focus on local produce and if you have a sweet tooth you'll truly be spoilt! A full and interesting wine, beer and spirits list. A must for a Sunday roast - there is nowhere better in the West!
Sue has a range of imaginative themed film and music evenings and wine tastings with the food reflecting the film or music's country of origin. Great fun!
I would highly recommend Clavelshay Barn to all.
Hugh and Lucy Finnis - 2 keen west country foodies!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    23
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for that special occassion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I've been to Clavelshay Barn twice now, once for my mother's 70th and again before leaving the country for a few months. Both times, Clavelshay has surpassed expectations, both in diversity of food available, quality of food and wine and the outstanding service. The home-made breads are just a small example of the attention to detail that the owners show in making sure that every aspect of your visit is not only enjoyab le, but memorable! And even though the two visits were 8 months apart, the staff there remembered us on our second visit - there's not many restaurants that pay that much attention to their customers!

The food is a delicious blend of good traditional grub with a more travelled flair - the cod with noodles and spring onions was outstanding - my mother's steak was tender and cooked exactly as ordered!

The decor is a mix of the very traditional with just a touch of modernity - a very rustic barn with a clean and elegant interior, very welcoming and relaxing!

Witht he new menu deals on Wednesday and Thursday night, the Clavelshay isn't just a place for the extra special occassion, but also for that midweek treat - I love it and can't wait to return to the UK early next year to go back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“wedding of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

After looking at many venues for our recent wedding we happened to stumble upon clavelshay barn,set in the rural countryside of somerset we fell in love with the location straight away.Sue and her amazing staff helped make our day Perfect in everyway,Alex the Head waiter was impecible and the staff were on hand all day and late into the evening.The reputation of the restaurant had alot to live up to and i must say they did not disappoint from the decoration to the welcome right down to the excellent presentation of the food.Would highly recommend Sue and Clavelshay Barn to anyone whether they are looking for somewhere for sunday lunch or an amazing venue and backdrop for their wedding.Thanks for everything you have done for us and look forward to seeing you very soon

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place and good hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were lucky to choose this restaurant for a 40th anniversary lunch. The building, menu, staff and service are pretty well faultless and the food was good too. It all bears the stamp of being well-run: the inspiration behind the place knows what she wants and what the customer expects, so everyone in our party left in a very cheerul frame of mind. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Special Place For A Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

A birthday and joint resignation celebration lead my husband and I to choose the Clavelshay Barn.
What can I say, the whole evening was magical. We had a great table, the atmosphere in the restaurant was buzzing, the service was attentive, and the food and wine was superb and in ample supply. We felt like royalty indeed!!!
Thankyou Sue for a very special evening that will not be forgotten. I’m glad we had the opportunity to visit you again, and we will most definitely visit again in the near future.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clavelshay Barn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to Clavelshay Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clavelshay Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.