We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday carvery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Inn at Catcott

The Crown Inn at Catcott
1 The Nidon | Catcott TA7 9HQ, Bridgwater, England
+44 1278 722288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, English, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional family run freehold country inn, over 400 years old and still retaining much of the charm and features of a typical old british pub, locally sourced homecooked menu, local fully matured steaks, and very popular Sunday lunchtime and evening carvery plus a good selection of cask ales, lagers and ciders.Cosy log fire for the winter months and large beer garden for the summer, large newly refurbished function room for special events and parties.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday carvery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate at The Crown on sunday the food was good and plenty of it but it was barely warm. The desserts were ok but again were Not hot it was quite dissapointing because after the reviews in tripadvisor we thought it would of been better. Not a disaster but Not brilliant, wouldnt rush to go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our carvery as much as we would like and we take all critisim very seriously, again we had a very busy week this week and I checked with a number of our regular diners as to whether their carvery was hot and up to the usual standard the previous week, and everyone said it was piping hot with hot plates and as good as usual, I personally had a dinner at the end and mine was very hot, however mistakes can happen and I am sorry that it wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been, I wish you had spoken about this to me at the time so I could have been aware of any problem and therefore able to recitify it asap,

I sincerely hope that you will come back and see us again, and if there is a problem with your carvery then let me know straight away and you certainly won't be charged for it

hope to see you soon
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    21
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

went to the crown for a sunday carvery excellent selection and massive yorkshires.good atmosphere and friendly pub staff all very helpful we went with two young children and the staff help them with their carvery meal will go again daz and caz nathan and justin

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
see you again soon
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“friendly staff, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the area Friday evening, not knowing much about where to eat, the area seems very limited, we used trip advisor to do a local search and this pub was top of the list. The staff were very friendly, as helpful as they could be. The food was 1fine, , came out in reasonable time, it was hot but nothing special, more pub grub rather than country pub food

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your comments, most people love our menu, I'm sorry that you found it a little limited, I feel we have a good range of country fayre, offering fish, game and local produce, glad you liked the atmosphere and service and what you ordered, if you choose to visit again perhaps you could let me know what you would like and we will do our best to offer somthing you would really like
Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
“Great food - never a bad meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been to the Crown about 4 or 5 times now both for their Sunday carvery and also from their main menu and I could never fault the food or service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
thanks for your review, always good to see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have dined here many times and each time the food has been very good with a superb choice of dishes from plain pub fare to a wide range of in season specials. There has always been a nice welcome from the landlords Bob and Row, and their team, which means a lot. Even with the busy times, the service is always excellent. The prices are reasonable with excellent size portions too. Nice atmosphere and we would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
great to have a review from one of our local regular's, always good to see you both

Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn at Catcott also viewed

Bridgwater, Somerset
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to The Crown Inn at Catcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Inn at Catcott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.