We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bridgwater

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Bridgwater to your Saves list
Travelodge Bridgwater
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Bridgwater
Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway, Bridgwater TA6 6TS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Bridgwater
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Value for money
Ideal location, Very nice staff, Parking very good.
Best night's sleep I've had for ages
Went to bed at 11:00pm woke up 9:30 in the morning.
We always try and stay in a Travelodge as the beds are very comfortable Showers very good as well.
Cant fault it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The entrance is a bit hidden due to entering via shops but once in, the Travelodge was clean and tidy. The bed was so very comfy and helpful for a good nights sleep. Would have given a 5 star rating had it not been for being woken up at 6.00am due to metal cages being noisily manouvered - presumably for the shops below.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Clean comfortable family room. Some noise noticed at night from traffic as it is situated on motorway services. Food expensive at motorway service shop. About 2miles from town centre, reception staff helpful in arranging a taxi into town, cost £11. Overall satisfied with this travellodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

One must accept that this is a lodge for travellers and not a hotel, therefore the rooms are sparse. This particular Travelodge had apparently been re-vamped, although I didn't notice that much difference from my stay last year.

I stayed two nights. The room I was allocated was on the third floor of the building, facing south. It was very large and spacious, believed to the used as a family room when cots are required.

There was a long work surface ideal for reps to work on or to spread one's belongings across.
There were four power sockets and two telephone/internet sockets(?). Wi-Fi access is charged extra, though. A suitably sized, but rather old, television provided most of the Freeview channels. A large mirror with wall lights either side above the surface. A sensible 1 litre electric kettle with complimentary sachets of tea, coffee and milk was provided - but no biscuits as is often found in hotels.

There were no ironing facilities or a hairdryer in the room. Presumably these had to be asked for if required.

This was a double room, but only one plastic 'dining' chair was provided. There were no armchairs and nowhere to relax other than on the bed.

The weather on my visit was very hot, but the room had a cold feel due to two walls being painted light blue and a blue carpet. There was a small panel-type electric appliance in one corner, which unfortunately I didn't examine, but it could have been a heater or cold air blower. If it was an electric heater I dread to think of the air quality if used constantly, ie. during cold weather.

The 'dream-sleeper' double bed was very comfortable, but the mattress surface was 70cm (28") from the floor! The fixed headboard had very small surfaces either side of the bed only just enough to put an alarm clock on. These were 20cm (8") below the surface of the bed and obviously from a previous installation to the present 70cm high bed surface. There was a thin bed runner across the foot of the bed, for decorative purposes only, matching the curtains.

Above the headboard was a large ridiculous-looking picture - more like someone had thrown paint onto a surface and not artistic in any way. Surely it would've been better to have a large print of a Somerset landscape or historic feature to set the scene of the lodge's location.

There was a door-less 'wardrobe' with ample shelving for guest luggage and clothing by the side of the entrance door, which had a full-length mirror for dressing.

The bathroom was ideal, with toilet, sensible-sized wash basin, worktop and mirror. A socket unit for both 115 and 230 volt shavers was available. Plenty of towelling was provided. The bath was very shallow and not suitable for those who like to have a soak. The shower unit over the bath was very good. It wasn't a power-shower, nor electric, but came off the main system. The flimsy plastic shower curtain was inadequate, wrongly hung, provided little space in which to manoeuvre and drew towards oneself due to the air current caused by the downfall from the shower. One had to be careful that it hung inside the bath and did not slip out, thereby flooding the floor if not noticed.

Two very good points with regard to the bath/shower was that a large slip mat covered the surface of the bath and a large grab rail for getting in and out or holding on to when showering. These are essential health and safety items, especially for elderly/infirm guests, children and those with disabilities. These items should be mandatory in every hotel, but are not always found, even in the best hotels! I would also add that a similar slip mat placed outside the bath would be a great benefit to the aforementioned, as the floor became slippery when wet. Placing towels on the floor is a waste of clean linen and not environmentally efficient by today's standards.

The room had a very large window with a view over a wooded area. All very nice to look at. There were new curtains of thin material matching the bed runner. There was a safety strap attached to the lower edge of the opening part of the window, preventing it from being opened no more than a few centimetres, obviously to prevent anyone falling out - or even escaping, perhaps!

Due to the lighting arrangement the room was somewhat dreary at night time and the only place one could comfortably read was sitting at the work surface beneath the wall lights.

The thing that spoilt my stay was that this room, No. 225, suffered from noise pollution - and not from motorway traffic, either:
(1) It was situated opposed the entrance door to the corridor, which banged every time a guest entered or left, including any noise made getting through the door with their luggage or the usual chatter before realising they ought to be quiet.
(2) In the bathroom there was a constant noise above the ceiling from what was thought to be the air conditioning system. The bathroom door had to be kept closed during the night when sleeping.
(3) Outside and below the window there was a large extractor unit to a side extension of the main building. It was so noisy the window had to be kept closed during the day, let alone during the night!

On the ground floor below there is a Costa coffee restaurant, M&S Simply Food shop, W H Smith newsagent/shop and a Burger King takeaway - all very handy for short stay and those on the move.

There was ample parking, but this was controlled by CCTV cameras which clock every vehicle in and out. For Travelodge guests it is free, but one has to book their car in at Reception, otherwise huge parking charges are applied.

Would I stay here again? Yes, simply because it is convenient for the purpose of my visit to the area. I can come and go as I need to, is less personal than bed and breakfast and I can choose when and where I eat with no fixed meal times.

Did I complain about anything? No. It wasn't the staff fault, so why bother them. They couldn't have done anything about it anyway. The faults lie in the building designer regarding the air conditioning and extractor, and in the interior designer for the room. Hence the reason I have recorded this on Travelodge's feedback and Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: 1. I am not a light sleeper, but for the benefit of those who are: (a) ensure your room is not oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonbie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hard to find, being upstairs above Costa, Burger King, etc. Has a lift. Entrance and exit to services, and parking, complicated and confusing (not Travelodge's fault). More signs would help. Don't miss the fact that you have to register your car at reception, or you'll be charged extortionate parking rates. Room excellent - large and spotlessly clean. Quiet, despite being on a motorway services. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hey! I have finally found a Travelodge in a worse condition than the Exeter Services one! That takes some beating...
Firstly, it is at the worst equipped service station known to man, where you have to abandon your car in a dark, old, dirty, scary, unlit multi-storey AWAY from the hotel. Not good as a woman travelling alone.
This is however situated right next to a very busy and very noisy lorry park!
The "services" consist of a tiny eating area comprising a Costa Coffee and Burger King plus the usual slot machines and mini shop.
The entrance to the hotel is within this area, with minimal security.(Door locked between 10 and 6)
I take the jerky, dirty, squeaky elevator to reception, and then further up to my room, praying I don't get stuck - it sounds as tired as I feel.
The room key is on a fob with my number beautifully scrawled in biro, but no worries as it doesn't fit the lock anyway. Borrow another one that only works if you use the right combination of swear words at it.
I am already exhausted and I haven't even got into the room yet!
The bedding is not particularly clean, marks on the duvet cover, I have to ask for more towels, tea, a cup, hairdryer and "Do not Disturb" sign.
The T.V. doesn't appear to have ANY channels working, and even after attempting to retune I can still only get 3. Doesn't matter, I can't hear it above the noise of the lorries reversing outside my window anyway.
The carpet has some nice purple glittery hearts on it from the last visitor and the loo does not smell too good. Maybe the hoover is broken and they ran out of bleach? The dirty linen is still piled up in the hallway though...
Constant noise all night; I gave in and took a sleeping pill around about 3 am.
Why do I keep doing this to myself?! I MUST stop using Travelodge!
It's not always that easy though is it? If you travel the route I do, then there are few alternatives.
If you want a decent Travelodge, go to the one in Torquay - that one is amazing, and everything a budget hotel should be.
Not this one though! I have stayed in worse places, I am just struggling to think of them right now.

Room Tip: Sleep in your vehicle, it will undoubtably be cleaner and more peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy, everybody slept well ( 2 adults 2 older kids 1 dog ) very busy location but this did not disturb our peace , car park brill

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Bridgwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bridgwater

Address: Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway, Bridgwater TA6 6TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Bridgwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bridgwater Hotel Bridgwater
Travel Lodge Bridgwater
Bridgwater Travelodge
Travelodge Bridgwater Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bridgwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.