We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The knack of making a visitor feel welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor Hotel

Tudor Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tudor Hotel
Save
You added Tudor Hotel to your Saves list
21 Saint Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The knack of making a visitor feel welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We had to be in Bridgwater and picked the Tudor Hotel because it was central. We are so glad we did.
The Tudor is a real family run business. there are three generations involved with running it and their watchword is 'Welcome'. Nothing was too much trouble, any little request was gratified in an utterly charming fashion. Julie was fantastic, a really genuinely warm person, and I am sure that this is why all the other members of the family and employees project her desire to please their customers.
From the moment we phoned to say we were nearly there and asked for directions and young Andrew came out of the kitchen to direct us to the parking area, we realised this was a special place.
It is an old building, a rabbit warren of connecting rooms, spotless, everything gleaming. Comfortable dining areas, excellent food. We had some hot soup and a bottle of excellent wine when we arrived. they willingly re-corked it to add to our meal in the evening. Large helpings of food, delicious scallops followed by slow-roasted belly of pork, a really nice meal in a full dining room. And the breakfast was fantastic.
The room had a good bed and a modern en-suite bathroom, all you could wish after such a good dinner!
The hotel was excellent value for money, less expensive that most B&B's. I shall definitely be going back there. We shall use it as a base to explore the beautiful countryside around Bridgwater.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my first time staying at the tudor and I would definitely recommend it, the room was nice and clean and had everything required, the bathroom was newly fitted and very nice. We had lunch and breakfast in the restaurant and both were excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly, would love to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed at the tudor on many occasions, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the hotel rooms that i have stayed in are always very clean and tidy, the food is excellent. even though the building is old,and has many stairs, i have found that difficult as i'm on elbow crutches, the staff have always found a room that is suitable for my needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live locally so only use the restaurant and adjacent 'Bar 27' at The Tudor & have not stayed in any of the highly acclaimed rooms. I eat here roughly every month throughout the year and the experience never disappoints. There is a huge choice of English or Greek food & the Head Chef has wide experience of cooking in the Orient so there are now also dishes from the far East. The quality of the food is always excellent as is the service and comfort in the restaurant. The small restaurant bar has limited beer choice but, if they aren't too busy, they will usually fetch a keg beer from the adjoining Bar 27. Drink and food prices are reasonable and portions generous so all in all pretty good value for money in really pleasant traditional surroundings.

Room Tip: Read someone else's review - I haven't stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night only, the hotel room suited me well. Everything I required, small but very compact. Nicely decorated. The showroom looked new, good quality fittings, and most of all, powerful hot shower. Only issue I had was the building is clearly very old, and there are so many stairs and corridors for a two storey building, every time I left the my room I came out downstairs in a different place. breakfast was delicious, liked the free Sunday paper to read as well.

I would definitely stay here again. The staff are all very friendly and efficient, and made me feel very welcome.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Well...we ate at this hotel 3 years ago when visiting bridgwater carnival. We traced it again this year as last time was so good. We booked as a party of 11. the service we received was not reduced in any way, shape or form considering it was their busiest day of the year. They were attentive, timely and the variety of food and quality was second to none. Well done Tudor !! .....and well done to the Gremlins!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This fabulous chracteristic hotel bring warmth and service together with ease. The staff are so friendly and provide a fine dining experience mixed with a homely feeling throughout your time spent at the Tudor. The rooms are very clean with all the modern essentials needed however they blend with the periodic feel of this charmingly aged building.
The food here is a must, large portions and perfectly cooked steaks to die for. A varied menu and a damn good hearty English breakfast for the finish to a most pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tudor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Hotel

Address: 21 Saint Mary Street, Bridgwater TA6 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Bridgwater, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.