We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The King Alfred Inn

The King Alfred Inn
Bridgwater, England
01823 698379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 88 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went for lunch on a Saturday. This is a really lovely pub, loads of character, as others have said, kids, dogs, cats so relaxed. Short but brilliant lunch menu, freshly cooked and very good, everyone very happy with their food. Their prices are very good and their quality is too. Wood burning stove ads to the atmosphere and cosiness. Fantastic, keep on doing what you do, we love it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very special pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Before I start I must tell you, this is my local but I love it so much I thought I'd share it with you! It's a rare gem with a very special warm ambiance that's quite rare to find. It's not at all pretentious.. flag stone floors and warm log fire, kids running around, dogs, cats.. You can turn up in your wellies if you want.

The landlord loves his beers and the landlady loves her food and it shows.. There's normally 4 real ales on all the beardy CAMRA type drinkers say it's well kept. The food is a treat too.. Huge portions of high quality food at sensible prices. All the meat is local, some of it, the lamb especially they now farm themselves. And the chips.. no one does chips like they do at the Alf! The only minor niggle is sometimes the bar is a bit slow when they're absolutely rammed but that's to be expected and it's worth the wait. Oh they do take out food too!

For the perfect Sunday have a quick walk up Burrow Mump to build up your apetite then treat yourself to their Sunday roast. Then undo a notch on your belt and hang around for the live music in the afternoon. In the summer sit out on the roof terrace and watch the river go by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food set in a lovely village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had Sunday lunch here and were really impressed. The veggie option was really tasty and came with all the trimmings of a meat roast such as potatoes, parsnips, mash, tonnes of veg and gravy and was just so tasty! We will definitely visit again. A nice walk up Burrow Mump which is just a few meters away should burn off those calories consumed ;o)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent value Sunday lunch with plenty of home cooked everything. Service can be slow at the bar but things improve after that initial hurdle has been overcome. Good, relaxed atmosphere. We have visited twice and will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The beer is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We heard this pub did great food, but they don't do any food on Mondays, which is when we were there, so can't comment on that. They also close at 9 on Mondays. The beer selection is good. The service is pleasant. But the pub is scruffy and the toilets stink. We almost booked in B&B here but did not get a reply to our email for 2 days - by which time we had booked elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King Alfred Inn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to The King Alfred Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King Alfred Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.