We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bowers Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bower Inn

Bower Inn
Bower Lane | East Bower, Bridgwater TA6 4TY , England
+44 1278 422926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bowers Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having written a previous dissapointed review, l feel l have to set the record straight. A party of 8 of us booked for Sunday Roast and arrived on time to a warm welcome. It is always a bustling pub but especially on Sundays and this is reflected in its solid clientele based following. After negotiating a table move (thank you) we recieved a wonderful meal, served hot (essential to me) and by interested and attentive staff. Mine host took the time to chat with the table at her busiest time, ensuring we had all we needed and offered extra pots of gravy, veg, etc. The staff are charming too and a great time was had by all. 10 out of 10 on all counts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for such a great review. It is always a lift to be given another go and particularly pleasing when the next experience is so positive. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    53
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oakham
2 reviews
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Comfortable surroundings, great lounge area , hosts very welcoming and friendly.

Food menu was good, quality of food was also very good

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the experience and thank you for taking the time to write your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a roast dinner @ the bower inn today. the food was very flavorsome, but with a roast dinner i expect at least 4 roast potatoes (there were only 2 on each plate) and i had to ask for another bowl of veg but the staff were more than happy to cater for our needs.
The desert on the other hand was a little too big, maybe a bit more on the main and a little less on the desert would have been better.
But like i said before i cant knock the quality of the food here amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. So glad you enjoyed the food and thanks for asking for more vegetables - we will always be happy to oblige. Your comment regarding roasties is duly noted. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“nice meal lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

went for a meal on saturday night and was welcomed very nicely. there wasnt much of a wait for food. a lovely young lady with brown shoulder length hair looked after us very well she offered us drinks, made sure everything was ok and that we was happy.

the meal was great i loved it the only thing i didnt like was the young boy with black hair, the way he spoke to the young lady. other than that i highly recommend tje bower inn and will be coming back :)

thankyou

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for writing your review and very pleased you had such a great experience. I wouldn't concern yourself with the staff, they all get on very well and work hard together as a team. Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in every aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently experienced an enjoyable Sunday lunch celebrating our friend's 40th birthday.

The Bower Inn has a friendly welcoming atmoshpere. Staff were attentive and the food was excellent.

We have (and will) continue to highly recommend this restaurant. We look forward to returning very soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It was a pleasure looking after you, we're really pleased it was such a success. Thank you so much for writing a review, hope to see you soon. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bower Inn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to Bower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.