We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bower Inn

Bower Inn
Bower Lane | East Bower, Bridgwater TA6 4TY , England
+44 1278 422926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Bridgwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridgwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a roast dinner @ the bower inn today. the food was very flavorsome, but with a roast dinner i expect at least 4 roast potatoes (there were only 2 on each plate) and i had to ask for another bowl of veg but the staff were more than happy to cater for our needs.
The desert on the other hand was a little too big, maybe a bit more on the main and a little less on the desert would have been better.
But like i said before i cant knock the quality of the food here amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. So glad you enjoyed the food and thanks for asking for more vegetables - we will always be happy to oblige. Your comment regarding roasties is duly noted. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    53
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“nice meal lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

went for a meal on saturday night and was welcomed very nicely. there wasnt much of a wait for food. a lovely young lady with brown shoulder length hair looked after us very well she offered us drinks, made sure everything was ok and that we was happy.

the meal was great i loved it the only thing i didnt like was the young boy with black hair, the way he spoke to the young lady. other than that i highly recommend tje bower inn and will be coming back :)

thankyou

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for writing your review and very pleased you had such a great experience. I wouldn't concern yourself with the staff, they all get on very well and work hard together as a team. Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in every aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently experienced an enjoyable Sunday lunch celebrating our friend's 40th birthday.

The Bower Inn has a friendly welcoming atmoshpere. Staff were attentive and the food was excellent.

We have (and will) continue to highly recommend this restaurant. We look forward to returning very soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It was a pleasure looking after you, we're really pleased it was such a success. Thank you so much for writing a review, hope to see you soon. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Valentine night dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I went to the bower for my first valentine with my new husband and had an amazing evening. The pub and restaurant were full not a spare table in the place but yet my duck and new potatoes were to die for would of had it again if I wasn't so full up. Even though the bower was extremely busy which is expected on Valentine's night we didn't have to wait long for each course the staff were fantastic an helpfully in every way well done bower inn keep it will be back again very soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
So pleased to hear your Valentine night with us was such a success. We were really busy (27 tables, all a la carte) and there were a couple of moments when we were a bit pushed, but so pleased it didn't have any effect on your evening. Looking forward to your next visit, regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Friendly.......Great Price.......5 Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked an early table for 6 (4 adults and 2 under 12's) and arrived half an hour before. We were greeted warmly and invited to take a seat in the Pub part of the place.
I was very impressed with the decor in the restaurant/pub. Smart and clean, individual and fun. spot the Pink Piglet light.
We sat in the comfy sofa's in front of the huge fireplace, very homely.
I ordered drinks at the bar which were then bought over to us by another friendly lady whom also gave us menu's.
We were given plenty of time to choose our orders for the meal and allowed to finish our drinks in the comfy sofas before going through to the eating section of the restaraunt.
Again the place was warm and the chairs comfy, the waitress attentive and asked if we wanted more drinks or anything else, she even bought over a jug of tap water without uis asking for it.
Food was great. Huge portions, piping hot and all delivered at the same time even though we had a mix of meals. Just the right amount of gap between courses, we didnt feel rushed or ignored, which is a hard thing to get right.
Puddings were great and the coffee was spot on.
Price wise, a fair price for quality food and service.
The staff and management were friendly and attentive.
I'm really glad to have found this place, it makes such a change from the generic cheap and nasty 2 for 1 steak houses that seem to do so well locally.
After reading a few of the other reveiws on this site I cant seem to match the Bower Inn that we we went to, with the one that they are describing.

The only thing that was missing from the evening was a dog lying in front of the wood burner.

Keep up the good work; we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review, I really appreciate the feed back and know what a great motivation it will be for the team here. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bower Inn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to Bower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bower Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.