We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admirals Table

Admirals Table
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Admirals Table to your Saves list
Admirals Table
Bristol Road, Bridgwater TA6 4TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bridgwater
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay overnight on 10 July 2013 on our way to North Devon. The price of £40 for bed and breakfast was exceptional value particularly as Travel Lodge and Premier Inn charge almost double that for just a bed.

We had a light snack in the evening which was very good. The rest of the menu was typical pub fare. The bedroom was large and clean with a comfortable bed and the breakfast was very good. The only gripe was that the day we arrived it was very hot and our bedroom overlooked the main road. We had to leave the windows open to let some cool air into the room, but were kept wake virtually the whole night by the continuing traffic noise.

Room Tip: As mentioned by previous travellers avoid the rooms overlooking the main road if the weather is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
25
44
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here last Thursday after getting off the ferry from Santander to Plymouth. As the ferry didn't arrive back until 4.30 pm we decided to book a room here for the night to break the journey home. When we arrived the place was busy but we had no problem parking. Our bike was parked here overnight without any problems.
Checking in was very quick and easy at the bar and the lady who checked us in was very helpful.
The room was very large and very clean and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was spotless.
The only problem was, we arrived on a very hot night and as our room was on the front. We couldn't leave the windows open due to the noise of the A38 traffic. Maybe a fan in the room would be nice? We could of gone and asked for a fan but we didn't so we don't know if fans were available.
Because we booked the room through Marstons we also received a 20% discount off the food. That along with the 2 for 1 made the meal very cheap and very good value for money. I had the sirloin steak which was very nice and cooked just how i like it and my partner had the hearty meat pie which he said was great. To follow we went for the giant carrot cake but sadly failed to eat it all. It was very nice and 1 of the best carrot cakes i have had in ages.
The service here was great and we didn't go to the bar once all night as the staff was very quick at bringing more drinks over to us. The food we had did not come straight out of a microwave and was well worth the money we paid. The pub had loads of atmosphere and we got chatting to other people staying here and some of the locals.
Breakfast was also really good and for what we paid for bed, breakfast, evening meal and all our drinks it was very good value for money.
We would stay here again but ask for a room not on the front next time.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked on-line and at short notice to break a trip from Yorkshire to Cornwall...location was good and the price was fair...the food was typical pub grub, either out of a packet or a microwave...in fairness no worse than we expected.
The pub emptied of diners about 9 o clock and any atmosphere disappeared...in fact we felt like spare parts.
We decided to take a bottle of wine to our room..watch a spot of TV and have an early night so we could leave early next day.
We opened the wine in our room...guess what was in there...NOT WINE...IT WAS WATER...UNBELIEVABLE !!! The barmaid offered some lame excuse as to how it might have happened...No matter how...it's UNBELIEVABLE..but TRUE !! .Come on Marstons..How about an official apology ? I await your response !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridgwater hotels

oswestry, england
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed the night before Glastonbury festival and after previous bad experiences at other places, all we wanted was a good bed and a quiet night. The hotel is on what appears to be an industrial park just off the motorway, but we didn't hear any traffic noise. We checked in and went straight to our room, which was quite big, with a decent sized bed, very quiet, tea and coffee, and a powerful shower. Perfect for a stopover, excellent price, nothing special, a little worn in places, but just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was our first stay at Marston's Inn, we stayed for one night at the end of May to break our journey back from Cornwall. Our room was upstairs, no lift access to carry heavy bags. Room 3 was a nice, spacious room, with 2 single beds, a widescreen TV, wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. The bathroom provided a large bath and shower. Good selection of complimentary refreshments provided in the bedroom.

The beds were good quality, very comfortable, and even through near the main road, it was very quiet, and not distributed by traffic noise.

The next morning, we had breakfast downstairs in the main restaurant area. There was a wide selection of food and drinks available for breakfast. However, only 1 gentlemen serving and did lead to considerable delays in service. The food we ate was of a good standard, and good portion size.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the pub, will have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on our way down to Cornwall and it was a perfect place. Just off the motorway. We arrived about 9pm and the room was lovely. We requested a cot when we booked but it wasn't in the room but we had one brought up straightaway. Breakfast was great and included in the price. All staff helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our first stay at a Marston's Inn and we stayed just one night to break a journey. We booked the room through LateRooms.com and paid £37.89 for a twin bedded room with breakfast for two.

The Inn is alongside the A38 trunk road with plenty of parking at the rear. Signing in was quick and efficient. Most of the accommodation is on the first floor and there is no lift. Our room was on the front of the building facing the A38 and is affected by road traffic noise although there is secondary double glazing that reduces the noise level. The disadvantage is you can't leave the window open if you want a good night's sleep.

The room was spacious with two comfortable beds, desk and two easy chairs. It was clean. The en-suite bathroom had a good shower cubicle and was generally very clean with a bit of mould at the base of the shower that could be quickly remedied. Towels were of a good quality.

Breakfast was provided in the bar on the ground floor. There was a short delay because the chef's bus was late. This shattered my illusion that the chef's were always provided with a chauffeur driven car. A small choice of cereals or porridge, fresh fruit and a cooked fry-up with good quality ingredients.

Overall it was good value for money but a room at the back would give a better night's sleep if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and not affected by road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admirals Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Table

Address: Bristol Road, Bridgwater TA6 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Admirals Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Table Hotel Bridgwater
Admirals Table Bridgwater, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admirals Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.