We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok but the restaurant was very cold no heating on in Jan?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Olive Mill to your Saves list
The Olive Mill
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Chilton Polden Hill | Bath Road, Bridgwater TA7- 9AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Bridgwater B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Food ok but the restaurant was very cold no heating on in Jan?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stopped for a lunch and opted for the lunch deal. Good value at £10.00 for two courses, Pate was tasty but the lumps and i mean brickettes of bread where almost impossible to enjoy without hurting my lips. My friend had the garlic mushrooms which are just that no breads etc. I had the cauliflower cheese with chips, it was ok but full of leeks far to many and it was microwave hot which helped with fighting off the cold. My friend had the steak pie which he enjoyed.
We were the only diners and not a real suprise as the venue was very cold.
I would not return here for lunch unless thry are willing to heat the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    10
    15
    12
See reviews for
39
41
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were looking for lunch on our way to a holiday weekend and were quite late for lunch. We received a very warm welcome nevertheless and ordered from the lunch menu. Both starters and both mains were absolutely wonderful we can certainly highly recommend it. I ordered the fish and chips and surprisingly the haddock arrived un-battered but was so tasty and well cooked I much preferred it to the usual greasy battered fish you normally get. Hope to return some day. Lovely staff were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Looking at the website, the billed as luxury accommodation seemed perfect for an overnight stay. When we arrived the girl at reception was very friendly and took us to our room, but as we walked up the stairs it smelt musty already and a bit dingy. The door to our room was thin plywood and didn't shut easily; inside can only be described as basic with not even a picture on the wall. The heating was on and the room was warm, but by the time we had come back from supper the radiator was off and wouldn't come on again and there was a cold draft from the windows. The pillows were stained yellow and at this point we decided we couldn't stay and settled our bill and left and moved on to somewhere clean and warm. The restaurant was better than the accommodation for sure - the meal we had was very salty but quite good and the waitresses eager to please. Would I go back? -sadly no.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I arrived at the Olive Mill at 16.10 in the afternoon and the place was closed. After telephoning the reservation number I was told that they did not open until 17.00 but that someone would come and let me in.
The reception I received from the lady who opened the door was frosty and most unwelcoming. I had obviously disturbed her break and her manner was off hand and bordering on rude.
This rather spoiled what otherwise would have been a pleasant stay. The evening staff were lovely and the food was very good.
In the morning I met the owner who was a nice man and interested to make sure that everything was alright with the stay. It is a shame that the initial lack of customer service had coloured my view of this otherwise satisfactory visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited this lovely venue with my mum and our two very small dogs, owner allowed us to sit in bar area with them and enjoy a Sunday carvery which was delicious, just like home cooking.
would recommend any one in the area to pay a visit. I also visited in the week with a friend and we enjoyed the special "two course for £10.00", lovely home made soup.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went for the Sunday carvery yesterday in a party of 16 - the food was excellent - good selection - well prepared - locally sourced and great value!
All the staff we met were very friendly and the service was excellent too!
George H

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I simply do not understand the last (and very spiteful) review as we had stayed there for a third time only a few days earlier en route to Cornwall and had been very satisfied. There may be a few admin problems from time to time but only tiny ones and we were impressed by the friendly staff who seem really keen to please.
It does make sense to ask for one of the rooms with a balcony since they are away from any kitchen noise but that ceases at 10.00pm sharp so hardly a problem. We slept very well and woke to the great views across a large and interesting part of Somerset.
The food is very high standard and the stone baked stuffed mushrooms are as good as I have eaten in any resturant and we will be back for more.
In the context of value for money - excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Quieter and a great place for afternoon tea with splendid views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olive Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Mill

Address: Chilton Polden Hill | Bath Road, Bridgwater TA7- 9AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olive Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Mill is a Bar and Restaurant with Guest rooms set in the heart of the west country. Enjoy excellent traditional British cuisine and Mediterranean and seafood specialities with tasteful ensuite accommodation featuring outstanding views of the Mendips, Cheddar and surrounding countryside. Some rooms also have a balcony.The Olive Mill is located within easy reach of Bridgwater, Glastonbury and Street on the A39 and provides a superb location for dining out for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Olive Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Mill Hotel Bridgwater
The Olive Mill Bridgwater, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.