We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brent Knoll Lodge

Brent Knoll Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brent Knoll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brent Knoll Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bristol Road | Highbridge, Brent Knoll TA9 4HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Brent Knoll
Ashford Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stopped for 6 nights and it was fantastic. The staff were superb. Nothing was to much trouble. They went out of their way to please. We had an enormous family room even though there was just 2 of us. They also had air conditioning. We had a couple of problems but they were corrected immediately. Plenty of tea,coffee and hot chocolate as well as bottles of water and a bowl of fruit put in our room.
The restaurant Fox and Goose is right next door, we had a meal which was smashing, and nice to be able to have a drink after a long journey and not having to drive
Breakfast was loads of choice with cereal and fresh fruit. We had the choice of what we wanted to have for cooked breakfast, even to having a kipper on Friday.
Fantastic stay and will certainly go there again

Room Tip: We had room 202 and if they are all like this one you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed over night in one of the family rooms, the room was huge. Very clean and tidy through out. We had food downstairs and that was very tasty and a decent price. There were a lot of us staying over and the managment were very helpful. We stayed in the room just off from the main bar as we had lots of children. They were happy with use of the video machines, outdoor play area and pool table.

Room Tip: there are 3 family rooms two that are big enough for a family of four. The other is smaller and woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were late booking - for a couple for just one night - and they only had a triple room available. That's Ok - we pushed two beds together. But the toilet seat was broken off completely, as was the toilet roll holder, and the fluorescent light in the bathroom flickered on and off constantly.
Due to circumstances keeping us in the area, we re-booked the next night, a double room on the ground floor and this was a lovely large room and very comfortable. The only problem was the electronic keys kept ceasing to work - locking us out of the building and/or our room on several occasions.
We ended up staying a week, but no discount was offered for length of stay or inconvenience.
We found the pub convenient and cosy, and the food was in the main good. The location is handy to Burnham-on-Sea, Cheddar Gorge, and Wookey Hole Caves.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Big rooms, quite basic though. Pub attached did very good food and everyone was very helpful. Handy for M5 and reasonable value. There was some confusion over check out, whether or not the room was prepaid, so just make sure you know if you have or not before arrival.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Being fairly local we have visited the restaurant @ Brent Knoll Lodge quite a few times. The quality of food was fairly good but our last visit failed to impress. Prices have gone up (I can understand that at the moment) but food quantity and quality have gone down

Service was indifferent with some cider being spilt by the barmen / waiter onto our table and onto some clothes. Any real apologies, no, just a mucky beer cloth to wipe the table.

Perhaps they are reliant upon trade from the Lodge but never forget that local trade is important, they are there long after visitors have departed

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We found the lodge by chance, and what a find. A clean and comfortable place to stay with staff that could not do enough for you. The breakfasts set you up for the day whether it be walking the hills and nearby cheddar gorge or just lazing on the local beaches.
The evening meals were just as filling and tasty. The effort the staff went to, to tastefully decorate the pub with pumpkins, cob webs and dressing up as gouls and vampires was a credit to them (it was halloween after all).
On the Sunday night we were invited to join the locals quiz night. All the locals were very friendly and chatty, with the money going to charity. It was fun and worthy despite coming last.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

called on off chance after a memory lane visit to brent for my husband found the staff extreamly helpful room including management making it the perfect end to our visit hope to return again sept 2010

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brent Knoll Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brent Knoll Lodge

Address: Bristol Road | Highbridge, Brent Knoll TA9 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Brent Knoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Brent Knoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brent Knoll Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Newly Constructed Lodge type Hotel offering light airy comfortable en suite rooms and an adjacent 18th Inn offering delicious home made dishes and daily specials. Disabled friendly. Dogs welcome. Children catered for. Outdoor play area. Skittles alley. Functions and Conference enquiries always welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brent Knoll Hotel Brent Knoll
Brent Knoll Lodge Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brent Knoll Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brent Knoll Lodge to your Saves list