We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Woodlands Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hill Lane, Brent Knoll TA9 4DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brent Knoll
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

we had our wedding here in June, i will start with the positives of this venue. first of all i would like to say thank you to Paul and Sarah who were great hosts and couldn't do enough for us on the day, most of our dealings were with Sarah leading up to our wedding day. The place it's self is a great location for a smaller wedding, we had 39 guests to the day do, it really is a lovely setting, we were hoping to have the ceremony outside but unfortunately the weather was against us, although late morning it did brighten up and Sarah said we could have it outside but the registry's said no and they have the final say. They provided flowers for the tables in our colour scheme, and sashes for the chairs in our chosen colour. the room we had our reception looked lovely, we provided our own table name cards but Sarah kindly wrote them out for us, they also made the cake area look lovely to. i was having my hair and make up done at the hotel and so for a reduced cost we were able to reserve a room the night before so we were able to get into the room at 9.30 in the morning to start getting ready, they also helped us out of sticky situation as we forgot one of our thank you cards, Sarah did a printed woodlands cards for us and lent us some cash to put in the card. the rooms are all lovely and our guests all enjoyed the day. The biggest disappointment for us was the food, having read other reviews we don't really understand what happened with ours, for the day reception, we choose the chicken parfait for a starter, which i have to say was a chicken liver pate and very dark in colour, although tasted ok it didn't look particularly nice and wasn't stated as chicken and liver on the menu, we then had the sirloin of beef for the main, which we paid a £2 per head supplement for this which would have been fine, but we ourselfs and some of our guest found the meat quite tough and a little fatty, and i do know that sirloin does have a certain amount of fat but shouldn't have been tough,it was supposed to be served with a madeira sauce, i would say it was just a gravy but all the same it was tasty, very little of it on the plates, we had more veg and gravy on request but felt this should have been done automatically, the roast potatoes were very very poor, very little colour and tasted like they had been reheated, the vegetables were lovely, very well cooked and lovely and fresh. For dessert we chose the chocolate torte, which i have to say was delicious, by far the best part of the meal, we paid for so many bottles of wine, we thought this would be put out on the tables but it wasn't, it was served so we have no idea if they were all used. As for the evening food the quality was very good apart from we were surprised they used processed ham for the sandwiches considering the cost was £14.95 per head for the evening buffet, we also felt for the amount of money we paid for the evening food we got very little for the money and would be interested to see what they would plate up for £14.96 per head. For our reception drink we had our own special drink witch Sarah was more than happy to make for us upon request. Overall we had a great day, Sarah and Paul were great hosts, a lovely venue, great for a smaller wedding, fantastic setting but the food particularly the day food was a big disappointment, may be we were just unlucky that day going by other reviews

Room Tip: lovely setting for an intimate wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMcClean, Owner at Woodlands Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are happy that generally this couple enjoyed the wedding and always appreciate feedback. We would however like to provide some clarity around some of the statements made about the food:
• The chicken liver parfait is a standard dish on both our wedding and a la carte menus. We have never had a chicken parfait on our menu and are not sure how this confusion arose as the first time we were aware of it is when we read this review.
• The sirloin beef was bought in the day before from a reputable butcher and was room temperature before going into the oven. We always monitor the plates coming back into the kitchen and did not notice quantities of food being returned so are again surprised at this review comment. We would like to point out that the guests specifically requested the beef to be well done so the risk is always that it loses its tenderness when cooked to well done.
• The jus did contain Madeira which is always moderately applied so as not to overpower the taste. Extra jus is provided on the tables for each function as a matter of course.
• The roast potatoes were prepared fresh, as they are for every function, and this is the first time we have received a criticism of them, as usually they are complimented.
• We usually serve the wine as it allows us, on behalf of the wedding couple, to monitor the consumption and make sure that all the guests enjoy the wine. Our experience has been that if the bottles are left on the table, it can result in an unfair distribution of the wine.
• The buffet items were selected and agreed by the wedding couple based on one item for each guest. As usual there was food left over when we cleared the buffet. However we will re-assess the portion sizes to ensure that our valued customers are getting value for money
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    52
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
138
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely but brief stay here last night. Hotel management very friendly. Lovely clean and comfortable room. I would recommend the walk to the top of Brent Knoll from the hotel, at a very leisurely pace this takes half an hour up and 20 mins back down. The views from the top are spectacular; you can see across to Wales and the Brecon Beacons, over to Glastonbury Tor and all down the coast to Exmoor. The walk makes you work up an appetite for the delicious cooked breakfast. Well worth the 5 minute drive off the M5 and you feel hours from it in the traditional village setting. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are so pleased that our son and daughter-in-law chose Woodlands for their wedding reception, it was fantastic, Sarah, Paul and staff were amazing. The months prior to the wedding the advice and support they gave were invaluable, nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail was superb. The room looked beautiful, our bedrooms were lovely and extra guests stayed at a nearby hotel and came back to Woodlands for their breakfast. we would not hesitate in recommending Woodlands for any occasion and especially for a beautiful wedding, with plenty of fab food, lovely surroundings and a really relaxed and homely atmosphere, we will all have some wonderful memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury Bristol
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went to try their 7 course taster menue, and what a treat! The staff were friendly and courteous, and the proprietor took the time to introduce himself, and check that everything was to our liking. We didn't stay overnight, so can't comment on the rooms, but the lounge bar and restaurant were "cosy", with far reaching views over the large lawned area and somerset countryside. Now what you have been waiting for - the food. What a treat it was, each course very different from the last, and bursting with taste and quality. The Woodlands also have an a la carte menue, which we will try before too longe, and the high tea and cream tea will also have to be tried.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Returned to woodlands for our first wedding anniversary, wow Paul and Sarah continue the excellent service and warm atmosphere we endured on our wedding day,a year ago.

We had a taster menu that proved outstanding, fully recommend it with the paring wine you will not be disappointed.

We wish Paul, Sarah and the team all the best and look forward to returning to woodlands for our second anniversary!

Room Tip: Room 6 four poster bed with views outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here because of a recommendation buy a friend,that spoke very highly of the charm
and warm atmosphere of the hotel .When we arrived we where meet by the owners Sarah and Paul who where very happy and incredibly welcoming that showed us our room which had a lovely country feel ,it had every thing you expect and also a decanter of sherry in each room.The grounds around where well kept and right on Brent knoll,which is a lovely walk with amazing views.The restaurant food was to a very high standard with an element of good honest country cooking.In all i would say that these family run hotels always give you great value for money and you feel that your custom is very welcome.I very rarely write revues but i think Woodlands country house deserve all the praise that they get.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the original part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked Woodlands for 35 guests following our daughter's christening on Sunday 5th May. We decided on the venue as it has sentimental value to myself and my husband as we were married there seven years ago - I was slightly apprehensive as the owners have changed but my worries were totally unfounded. We were welcomed by the owners who took the time to call us by our first names when we arrived and our guests were settled into the lovely dining room. Our three year old daughter had been very precise about what she wanted at her christening party so her request of bacon rolls proved very popular! I particularly loved the beautiful china cups and saucers the tea and coffee was served in - I am a fine china fan and it was almost as if the management had realised this! The sun shine and all our guests had a wonderful time as did the children who delighted in playing on the beautiful lawns - it truly was the perfect setting. My husband and I felt the current owners had made some positive improvements including lovely new steps into the lower garden and a decking area where the old swimming pool used to be. My husband, myself and our daughter stayed the night and it was lovely to stay in the same room as we had when we where married there (all be it with an extra member of the family present this time!). During our stay the friendly owners repeatedly checked we were ok which was lovely.
Thank you Woodlands - you made our daughters special day memorable

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Country House Hotel

Address: Hill Lane, Brent Knoll TA9 4DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Brent Knoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brent Knoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Country House HotelSet at the base of the Knoll in a beautiful part of Somerset, close to the M5, but far enough away not to see or hear it. Surrounded by beautiful countryside, ideal for leisurely walks, afternoon cream tea in the garden, cocktails whilst watching the sun set over the Quantock Hills. A place to relax and enjoy lovely local cuisine, all made at Woodlands. We are proud of our little hotel, and look forward to welcoming you to Woodlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Country Hotel
Woodlands Country Brent Knoll
Woodlands Country House Hotel Brent Knoll, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.