We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Babington House to your Saves list
Babington House
Babington BA11 3RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Surrey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing and very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for a night in April, this was a treat from my son and what a treat.
He had booked the walled garden room which was amazing, it's like a little hideaway in the woods. Spacious bathroom, huge comfy bed on a mezzanine which overlooks the walled garden, beautiful living room with log burner and wall to wall windows. Outside on your private courtyard overlooking the gardens is a large tin hot tub which we used quite a lot ! Gorgeous cowshed products to use as well.

Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Simon in the bar who recommended some lovely cocktails. Lunch in the bar tasty and good choice. Afternoon tea amazing and was complimentary.
Evening meal in restaurant was relaxed and again great choice. Ordered breakfast in room which was a nice touch, continental hamper was lovely together with a cooked breakfast, took us a while to eat as there was so much !

Grounds beautiful to walk around, with a cute little church and lake, I can see why this is a popular choice for weddings.

We went to be spoilt and relax for a couple of days and we certainly did, I wish we could have stayed longer. Was not sure if this was going to be stuffy and pretentious as some country houses can be, but was so not. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Walled garden room every time as have own hot tub in garden and views beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    74
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
46
199
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent a lovely weekend at Babington House. The Cowshed spa was impeccable and we had 3 treatments each in total. The swimming pool was nice, although if you are an adult I would definitely avoid during the children swimming times. The staff were BRILLIANT. The room and bathroom were gorgeous with fullsize Cowshed products in the rooms. Breakfast was very good and the free afternoon tea was a lovely touch. The only reason I have not given 5 stars was due to lunch and dinner. It was fine and a reasonable price, but nothing special. We have been to other spa hotels in the UK who have fantastic restaurants, some with Michelin stars, and it just seemed a shame that the food wasn't quite up to scratch given the price of the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary here and it was a wonderful and indulgent treat. The food was exceptional and I would definitely recommend the roasts - generous portions and the cauliflower cheese and roast potatoes were delicious and plentiful - we struggled to finish everything. The dining room overlooks the lake so is a lovely spot to enjoy your meals. We had a working fire place in our bedroom (room 1) and they were happy to make up the fire for us which was so cosy as we relaxed on the sofa and huge four poster bed reading and adding the occasional log to keep it going. The afternoon tea was superb (and included in the room rate for guests) with home made cakes and scones and was definitely worth driving back from Bath early to enjoy. They have their own cinema onsite adjoining the spa and we got the chance to see a film that was not yet on general release which was great and they let you take your drinks in. I swam in the indoor and outdoor pool (for five minutes only!) in February and the indoor pool is very warm so you can dash from one to the other quickly and stay warm. Definitely recommend Babington as a treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night as a special treat to ourselves. We stayed in a walled garden room and couldn't have asked for more. The private tin hot tub was our favourite feature, alongside the copious amounts of Cowshed products. Had a massage after checkout and we thought it a nice touch that reception told us we were more than welcome to hang out there until whenever regardless of not having the room anymore. Definitely going back!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Fabulous hotel and amazing setting. We went for a friends wedding and it was perfect, our room was slightly quirky with a bath on the balcony, but this just added to the charm. Food was amazing and breakfast was a feast of berries, breads and the traditional English. Would love to go back .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

...any hotel that gives you cleanser and toner as bathroom goodies is ok with me. The afternoon beckoning for tea was a genius bit of thinking - kind of like a posh Butlins campers call. So exciting. I swam very happily in the outdoor pool in October which has a wonderful infinity angle to it. Food delicious and in a lovely environment. Bathroom larger than my bedroom at home. Staff on hand at every corner.
I was slightly intimidated at times by the over confidence of the other guests but all in all its a wonderful, wonderful bit of calm which is so very easy to feel at home in as soon as you arrive. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have staircases leading to the beds so if you're a bit wobbly in the night best to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is lovely, in a great location and very relaxing. What is nice is the relaxed atmosphere that the hotel creates. However the rooms are over priced for what they are. We feel there are equally good hotels in the Uk offering better value for money.
The food was surprisingly reasonable in price however the quality was average.
The pool area is great if you're outdoors but there are only 4 chairs to sit around the indoor pool.Nice to have experienced but we won't return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babington House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.