We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent at every level” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babington House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Babington House to your Saves list
Babington House
Babington BA11 3RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent at every level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is cool yet relaxed, luxurious yet comfortable, and caters outstandingly to families with children. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the clientele varied and refined, and the food is outstanding both in quality and value. No further elaboration needed - high quality at reasonable prices in a calm and tranquil setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    80
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
49
212
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have read a lot about this place, but nothing quite sums it up adequately.This is like no other hotel you will have stayed at. We had the fabulous Playroom in the main house, a gorgeously well appointed room with huge bed, which was so divinely comfortable you may never want to get out of it .Also in the room is a fabulous large claw foot bath situated in front of a log fireplace, great for winter afternoons in with a bottle of champagne.The bed looks out over three large Georgian windows onto the fabulous grounds,there is also a super comfy sofa at the bottom of the bed, placed in front of a large TV.The room itself is massive and houses a rainforest shower cubicle, a separate old fashioned style toilet cubicle and twin vanity sinks.In room amenities include tea and coffee makings, great Cowshed products and even a hot water bottle and drinks cabinet! I think this room has everything you could want on a retreat away from everyday life.
The house itself is like a friendly country house where everyone is intent on having a great time, loads of rooms to sit and read or relax in,(some child free zones) loads of access to food and drink around the house, in fact one of the best house rules ever for this type of hotel is order whatever food you like and eat it in whatever room you like! genius.The bar is really buzzy, with huge sofas and seats spread around a main horseshoe shape bar, with great views out over the grounds, the restaurant in the orangery is light and airy with what I would describe as wholesome gastro pub style food.The T bone steak is awesomely large!!!breakfasts just great choices with loads of great pastries and granola and yoghurt.
Afternoon tea is complimentary between 3 and 5, scones jam and cream and fabby cakes, just yummy and everyone sits around eating, drinking afternoon tea and chattering.
The cinema facility is fabulous, we watched Gravity in 3D on the Saturday evening in a gorgeously appointed 40 seater private cinema room, and the top joy, no one munching on popcorn and no ones head blocking the view!
The pools both indoor and outdoor are heated.
We took the hotel bikes out for a ride, they are a bit rickety but did the job for a little tootle out round the countryside.
It just conveys a sense of a massive club , which you are privileged to belong to but which you will be welcomed back into whenever you can come back. The staff are great, enthusiastic about their jobs and the place they work.
We are definitely going back, as soon as we can, and look forward to testing out a different atmosphere in a different season, any excuse really, must be tried in all seasons!!

Room Tip: The Playroom is situated above the bar and reception, so expect some level of noise during the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here in January when high winds and floods were battering the country. We couldn't think of a better place to be holed up for a few days.

Like many of the other reviews, we agree that it's the many small touches that make this a cut above other 5 star hotels we have stayed in and warrant the very expensive price tag.

These touches can be seen eveywhere from the decor and furnishings of the hotel (rustic, stylish and luxurious yet not bling or OTT), the attentive service, the cinema and spa, free afternoon tea and cakes, the Wellington boots for walking, the bycicles, to the fantastic breakfast in bed. The wooden trunk arrives with basically a full scale breakfast buffet inside it and is a real treat.

We stayed in one of the upstairs stable room which was a beautiful split level room consisting of a Lounge and bathroom downstairs with a bath and shower and loads of cowshed products, and a mezzanine level in the eaves with a massive bed with several cushions. Lovely decor in keeping with a luxury country house plus modern touches like sky and a DVD blue ray player in the lounge and bedroom and a retro Roberts radio.

We has dinner in the restaurant. Very nice and very reasonably priced.

We also used the cinema one evening, the pool area and the spa where my wife had 2 treatments which we absolutely loved.

The hotel was packed and there were plenty of families so seems very family friendly.

Overall, would definitely recommend babington house for a special treat. It really is a fabulous place for some rest and relaxation.



  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent another wonderful weekend with our children and our little dog at Babington House. We absolutely love it there and our kids too! It's just the perfect escape from London! Thank you for yet another great weekend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Babington gives you everything you expect and more. The service is impeccable and the staff can never do enough for you - from the moment you walk in to the bar staff.

They simply tick all the boxes. Yes, it is expensive but what you get for your money is beautifully appointed rooms, an informal yet subtly grand atmosphere, good food and delicious drinks, wonderful public areas (both inside and out), one of the very best spas and a real sense of being away...it is a home from home.

We were also actually fortunate enough to hold our wedding here last year (May 2012) and there aren't enough superlatives.

This is the creme de la creme of UK country hotels.
We have been to a few on a similar level but this is very few and far between.

Room Tip: For our wedding we had the entire place and pretty much checked out the different rooms. whatever yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

To be honest I was left feeling a little bit disappointed after a recent visit to Babington House.

While there was absolutely nothing bad about the experience, and the service was fairly good, I just felt for the money we paid, we could have got a lot more. I have paid less for overnight stays at places like Pennyhill Park where, I believe, the service is better, the spa facilities more extensive and the food much nicer.

Just as an example, as somewhere with a spa you expect to be able to sit and relax at the pool side. This is not an option at Babington - the pool house literally houses a pool and nothing more. The Cowshed spa where you go for your treatments is in a totally separate building so wandering between your treatments in your robe or taking a shower immediately after your massage just isn't an option.

Additionally, at dinner I ordered a rare steak which arrived well-done. When I sent it back and ordered another one, also rare, the same thing happened again and the second steak was also well-done. You just don't expect this from a place like Babington House - you would think they would be able to cook a steak to order. And, even after this happened, they didn't knock it off the bill despite my not eating it at all.

Having said all this though, the rooms themselves were absolutely amazing and we couldn't have asked for much more. The surroundings are also stunning, it is just some of the facilities and service that do not match the hefty price tag. I'm glad we experienced it but I definitely won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's tricky to find fault with Babbington. It does what it does with ease and simplicity, comfortable rooms, good solid food and warm - if occasionally inattentive service. It's been doing it for a number of years now - and knows not to mess with a winning formula, and while others attempt to match its skills, somehow they all fall short.

Nowhere else can quite pull off an afternoon of cricket on the adjoining ground and have people lounging around the bar in whites and stripes for the rest of the evening. Nowhere else can conjure up the majesty of the main bedroom with bow window and bed the size of a small chapel...

Occasionally the age of the staff means a lack of maturity in understanding their guests requirements, but Babbington was the first of the Soho House establishments outside London and its reputation for comfort, peacefulness and restorative solitude - a getaway-from-it-all pleasure dome remains unrivalled.

You will find over indulgent yummy mummies with children who run free - because "Johanna is a free spirit darling - she must draw on the walls if she feels like it" and public schooled bankers who don't know the strength of their own voices "Had to leave the McLaren in the garage - bloody Somerset potholes bugger up the wheels you know..." but it as long as you are happy to watch the wildlife - it rarely disturbs you specifically....

Go, enjoy and relish a bygone age of the house party at its finest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Babington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babington House

Address: Babington BA11 3RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Babington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Babington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babington House Hotel Babington
Babington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babington House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.