We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new management causing hotel to fail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added T'yn y Cornel Hotel to your Saves list
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“new management causing hotel to fail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

fourth stay here and from the outset realised something was wrong. was told later that the hotel was under new ownership and management, although the new manager had taken time off and was absent for our stay. remaining (depleted) staff seemed miserable and despondent - most were young and inexperienced. the meals were indifferent, service very slow and poor(waited an hour for breakfast 1 morning) guests complaining all the time about the poor quality of food/low housekeeping standards in rooms/poor service. the head chef spent most of his time wandering through the public areas in his catering outfit, moaning or showing people his dog, which he kept in one of the guest rooms and which barked its head off whenever guests walked by. i suspect he may be the new owner but he didn't seem to care when guests complained at the poor standard of food. we saw 4 meals returned during our stay and heard him complain loudly in the bar that it wasn't his fault and implying the guests were just trouble-makers! one guest told me it reminded her of fawlty towers but there were no sybil or basil to address complaints to - and at least they always had 2 or 3 people waiting on tables: we never saw more than 1 young person struggling to dish out the food while we were there. very disappointed and very upset that this once lovely little hotel has descended rapidly into a dive!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    17
    18
    27
See reviews for
17
68
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Visited with friends 10th August 2009 Had been to the tynycornel talyllyn gwynedd many times before with friends and had wonderful meals this time we ordered steaks but when they were served the steak was so tough none of us could chew it, it was so bad. the vegetables were overcooked and tasteless, and the sauce was watery.when we drew this to the waiters attention, the chef ( I use this term lightly ) came to the table He stated " Its not my fault its the butchers fault i didnt rear the cow did i " I reminded him that he had cooked and served the steak to us but he just shrugged his shoulders and left. he offered no apology at all and nothing was deducted from the bill to make up for our spoiled meal.we later found out this hotel had been taken over by new owners. I suspect the chef is the owner , and we were made to feel very uncomfortable for the rest of the meal i believe because we had complained. On arrival at the hotel before our meal we experienced staff being very rude to other guests. the staff seemed to be in dissaray, likewise guests didnt quite know what was going on. if you want a nice evening out for a meal avoid this place like the plague. go back down the road to the pub in abergwinolwen excellent food and service there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, usa
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Tynycornel is recently under new ownership, and all is not good. The
manager is rude and dismissive. The staff members are tense and depressed and the service and meals have suffered. The July menu was the same every night..no changes..no-one sems to care. Just sit in the lounge and listen to guests complaining. It is sad that this hotel which was once so prestigious and well known for its excellence appears to be going downhill.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Over here!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Just had two wonderful nights at Tynycornel hotel. Nice clean room with lake views. Very good food and friendly helpful staff. Nice relaxing stay.........

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

This hotel enjoys a wonderful setting overlooking the lake and is a peaceful and very comfortable place to stay. The public areas are well maintained and the lounge enjoys beautiful views of the lake and mountains.

However, it said in the brochure that all the rooms enjoyed views of the lake or gardens. Ours, Room 3, disappointingly, only had a very close view of the roof of the dining room! When we mentioned this at reception, we were just told that 'You have a point there' but no proper apology offered. Even a complimentary drink would have made us feel better about the complete lack of a view.

The evening meal was lovely - delicious food with excellent service. Breakfast on our first morning, however, was very slow: it took 30 minutes for our cooked breakfast to arrive after we had ordered it. By contrast on the second morning, service was again excellent and speedy. The smoked salmon with scrambled egg option was delicious.

All the staff were very friendly and generally helpful. A lovely place to stay but check which room you're getting!

  • Liked — The setting and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The view from our room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

What a fantastic hotel! We stayed here for a few nights a couple of weeks ago. The setting is perfect and the hotel is very nice. However what made our stay special was two things… the staff and the food!

Every member of staff we came into contact with was so helpful! Everything ran like clockwork, I could not believe how efficient everyone was!

The food is some of the best we have EVER experience, and that includes some top hotels… In particular the vegetarian options on the menu were simply fantastic!

  • Liked — the staff and the food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Just back form a four day break in mid-Wales where we used the Tynycornel Hotel as a base - what a great choice as we relied solely on the hotel web-site for description of rooms and services!

Comfortable cottage rooms (newly renovated) have excellent size bathroom and lovely views. The hotel has its own private lake and, as a result, is used by anglers. Some cottage rooms overlook the lake and have a small terrace patio which is great on a nice day! Breakfast is a treat and dinner (three course set menu) is great value and quality. Hotel staff members were friendly and very service orientated - very refreshing.
In summary, great location, good service and excellent food.

  • Liked — Location, service and food
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Address: Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T'yn y Cornel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.