We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added T'yn y Cornel Hotel to your Saves list
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed for one night recently and found the hotel to be extremely quiet - in fact a bit like the reading room at the library! It was a bad night of weather and I guess no-one wanted to venture out. The staff were very pleasant and eager to please, the dinner was OK, starters were obviously from the freezer and placed in the deep fat fryer - but the maincourses were better. Breakfast was the best meal - served efficiently, warm and plentiful. The bedroom was cold, creaky and not at all 'cosy' and had an aroma of years of smoking without having had the carpet changed or being decorated. The bathroom was definitely in need of a complete refurb and we tried not to look too closely when showering. Overall - just average but for the price - reasonable value. Food a little excessive though for the quality at £25.00 pp for three courses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    17
    18
    27
See reviews for
17
68
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

we decided to stay at the tynycornel. on check in the receptionist was every polite and gave us all the information we needed and personally showed us to our room which as a nice touch. she gave her name and said that if we needed anything to just "give her a shout". we stayed in room Heron. a large room with a fab balcony over looking the lake. what an amazing view to wake up to. breakfast was good and we opted for a bar meal in the evening which was served in the lounge area or the conservatory which as a view of the lake they were large portions and where good. the main restaurant disappointingly has no view but the warm atmosphere made up for it. i would defiantly recommend the hotel to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: superior rooms are a walk from the main building but offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel is in a beautiful setting and it is very quiet and comfortable. The place needs a bit of uprating but the common areas are very pleasant and the food is very good indeed! The major issue is the slapdash service but I understand that the hotel may be changing hands and it must be hoped that new and more dynamic management would breathe a new lease of life into what could truly be a must visit place!
I for one would be very dissapointed if this hotel and restaurant continues what appears to be a downward spiral and were to close.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel is in a gorgeous spot on a lake, right at the foot of Cadair Idris. We decided to stay in a hotel due to some of us running in the 'Race The Train' event, but we should have camped. The hotel was expensive but poor quality- our bed sagged dreadfully (would have been better on a mat), decor was old and window opener broken, breakfast had only 50% of items from the menu, service took ages and staff were surly. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Fab room
Fab Food
Lovely Setting
Lovely Lounge
Service very poor - breakfast took an age to come

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Having had our daughters wedding here we feel that this wonderful hotel and their staff deserve all the praise for their dedication and hard work that they showed throughout the weekend. Nothing is too much trouble, they made our guests so welcome, the food was good and the rooms were so comfortable with views of the Tallylyn lake. We would certainly reccomend this hotel for a wedding and for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Had a great stay - excellent food and one of the best locations in the area; an amazing view. The hotel is opposite the lake, with boat hire and fishing available.

Room Tip: stayed in Heron - a slighter bigger room, with own balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Address: Tywyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T'yn y Cornel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.