We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever the season this is a great place to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory on the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tal-y-llyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Save
You added The Old Rectory on the Lake to your Saves list
Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Tal-y-llyn B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Whatever the season this is a great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

After the great Talyllyn flood - see my previous review - we just had to return to this amazing luxury bed and breakfast to see what the area is like in autumn and and we were certainly not disappointed! We were blessed with some incredible weather and managed to capture some great images. As usual the hospitality and comfort at The Old Rectory on the lake was second to none and I know we will be regular visitors ...... in all seasons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello to you in Southampton and thanks so much for taking the time to post this review and adding some amazing images taken during your stay with us earlier this month. We are staggered just how many kind folk leave pictures on here of our home and surrounding area and very soon we will have 400! We are so pleased you are enjoying Talyllyn in all the seasons - maybe try and visit when we have snow!
Best wishes to you both from John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
406
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stunning remote location with fantastic food and very friendly service. This is a simple yet beautiful Bed and Breakfast with quality fixtures and fittings. The bed was superb with first rate linen and the bathroom spacious with quality fixtures. But the best of all were the views afforded from the dining room and the quality of the four course dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
What a kind review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us together with the stunning views here at Talyllyn and that you really appreciated the Egyptian cotton linen both in the bedroom and bathroom. Thanks for praising my food and I hope to meet you both again.
Best wishes from Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The charming B&B has it all. Breathtaking setting in Snowdonia, A Beautiful lake right opposite and wonderful owners. We stayed for 1 night in the rectory room in 2011 July and loved every second of our stay. Unfortunately, it was available for only 1 night and we had to move out. But the owners were great and they gave us a late check out. The hospitality is par excellence and we look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for leaving this kind review and we are sorry that we could only accommodate you both for one night. You are so right - we are in a spectacular setting - and we truly appreciate this.
Talyllyn is an artists and photographer's paradise and last Saturday we were lucky enough to have a full page picture of The Old Rectory published in The Times. Their photographer managed to get a stunning shot from across the water - it was early in the morning with the sun just coming up from above the mountain opposite, the lake was glass-like and the autumnal colours of the leaves on the trees around us were just magical. We hope to welcome you here again.
John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at The Old Rectory for one night as part of our honeymoon and had such a wonderful time! A warm, comfortable room and host who was so accommodating and helpful. Dinner was absolutely superb and we loved drinking bubbly under the stars in the hot tub - bliss! The location is stunning, We'd definitely recommend this as a fantastic place to stay and a good base for exploring the area. 10/10!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We seem to be attracting more and more honeymooners - and may that continue!
It was great to meet you both and thanks for this very kind review. We agree that sipping chilled champers in the hot tub at night is so very romantic and we are pleased that you too enjoyed that experience. However no-one has yet to get the cork in the lake!
We wish you all the very best for the rest of your lives together.
Ricky - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our family stayed for two nights in October. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the rooms first class. The food as all the other reviews was delicious.
Our second night had clear skies, and with the light off the stars in the sky were fantastic.
To top off our excellent stay we even saw an otter in the lake early one morning.
We couldn't fault our stay. Thank you to Ricky and John.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you all. Thanks for these kind comments and it was great that the otter made an early morning appearance. He is being a bit elusive of late but so far one Tripadvisor reviewer has managed to capture him on camera and hopefully they will be adding that image soon.
Our very best wishes to you all - Ricky, chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Whenever we come down the Talyllyn pass I just get so excited as I realise I am about to stay at one of my favourite places. The Old Rectory on the lake is almost second home to me and Dave and we have been many, many times and all are memorable. Our last visit was just as good as ever and this time we stayed in The Retreat although not on a self-catering basis as we had our delicious breakfasts and amazing dinners in the main house. As usual chef Ricky did not let us down cooking for us some perfect steaks and great chocolate puddings which Dave just loves. We are due back again at The Old Rectory on the lake at the start of November and I am already excited!
We cannot praise the people & B& B enough. First class all the way!!!

TIP: Just book, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks as always for your very kind comments. Do you know that when you come to visit us again next month it will be your 25th time staying with us - we are so flattered that you keep returning! We will mark this event with some fireworks to light up the Talyllyn night skies. And as you will also be celebrating Dave's birthday Ricky will make sure his dark fondant surprise is certainly on the evening meal menu! See you both very soon.
Best wishes John and Ricky - joint owners of The Rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in this B & B for 2 nights recently, attracted initially by the photos on their website. We will return (soon I hope!), for the hospitality, quality of accomodation, and most especially for dinner, which was very reasonably priced for one of the best meals we have ever experienced. Unlike some B & Bs not only do they offer dinner, but provide a good choice for each of the starter, main course, and dessert. Their wines are excellent value too. The view from your bedroom window is simply stunning, and the surrounding area offers spectacular scenery and lots of places to go and see. John was always willing to suggest interesting trips and walks, whether you prefer something strenuous or a little more sedate. The icing on the cake for this visitor was the loan of a camera tripod, (having forgotten to pack my own!). If you are visiting this area this B & B is an absolute must.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Greetings to you in Dublin from Talyllyn. Thanks so much for posting this review and we are so pleased that the photos on our website encouraged you to come and stay with us. We know we are so lucky to live in such a spectacular location and as you discovered it is a photographer's dream! Views from our home - up and across the lake - change all the time and as I write this whisps of cloud are slowly moving up the valley and relecting in the water - you would just love this shot!
Glad we could help out with the tripod and we look forward to meeting you both again.
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tal-y-llyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.