We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just doesnt get any better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolffanog Fawr

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tal-y-llyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolffanog Fawr
Save Saved
You added Dolffanog Fawr to your Saves list
Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It just doesnt get any better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for just 2 nights, wish we had stayed longer now. It just doesnt get any better than this and being able to take out little dog with us to such a nice place is a bonus. Cooking, wine, hospitality, rooms, everything was excellent, even the weather the day we climbed Cadair Idris! I would love to recommend this wonderful place to you but then if \i did you would all go there and I might not be able to get a room when I want!! Its superb and you must go and sample the delights of Dolffanog Fawr.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my wife visited last year at a similar time of year and we decided to go again this year at fairly short notice. With the exception of the inclement weather, our stay was perfect!

The food (breakfast & evening meal) is as good, if not better than many expensive restaurants and the wine choice is fantastic...also particularly good is the Welsh lager!

The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable. The guest lounge is very comfortable and though we didn't get chance this time, the hot tub is recommended.

There are also plenty of things to see and do in the area regardless of the weather!

Anyway, absolutely excellent again and will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We will return here again & again. Alex & Lorraine go out of their way to ensure their guests are relaxed, comfortable and extremely well fed. Lorraines cooking is second to none possibly only surpassed by Alex's wine cellar!
11 out of 10 :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is all that one could want from a B&B. The setting has to be one of the best in Wales, abundant walks from the door step, gorgeous views, a spotless and comfortable room and, most importantly, a great breakfast in terms of attention to detail (eg home made bread from local organic flour), quality and choice. The hosts are genuinely friendly and highly professional. The timing of our three night stay meant that we were only able to savour one evening meal, which was delicious and certainly enhanced by the welcome bonus of a great wine list. Abundant local knowledge from the hosts is available for you to tailor your time and interests accordingly. Moreover, our dog was welcomed as part of the family too.

Room Tip: Mawddach if you want a bath and shower in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked 4 nights away here having never really stayed in a proper B&B or visited that part of Wales before. We chose Dolffanog Fawr based mostly on location and the reviews we'd seen on here and were delighted to find that the excellent rating is 100% deserved.

The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean, as well as being cosy and warm. It had the effortless charm of an old farmhouse but at the same time felt bright and modern. We only ate one evening meal whilst staying (often we knew we wouldn't be back from our excursions in time for dinner - otherwise we would have definitely eaten there more often) and it was absolutely delicious - akin to the sort of thing you'd expect at any top restaurant!

Breakfasts were great too, with a nice choice of things both hot and cold to eat. I was going to be healthy and have just one cooked breakfast during our stay but it was so good I had it every day but one! Top quality ingredients, best sausages I've had in a while.

If you don't eat an evening meal at the Dolffanog Fawr, there are some lovely-looking restaurants in Dolgellau as well as the Railway Inn just down the road Tywyn which we ate at our first evening.

During our break we had mainly planned to visit RSPB reserves that were all within a shortish driving distance of the B&B. However, Lorraine and Alex (and even some of our fellow guests) were so knowledgeable about all the walks and excursions in the area we ended up visiting things we hadn't originally planned. These included Portmeirion and the Forestry Commission-run Coed Y Brenin which had a forest walk that showcased the beautiful Autumn foliage brilliantly. In the end, we ran out of time to do all the new things we wanted to do so we will definitely have to go back in the Spring to do some more!

All in all, the accommodation was faultless, the views spectacular and Lorraine and Alex were the perfect hosts - we could not recommend Dolffanog Fawr any higher!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Dolffanog Fawr last week. Its a great place, quietly located beneath Cader Idris. The building is an intelligently refurbished and stylishly modernised farmhouse, with large tastefully fitted rooms. We had a rear room overlooking Cader and Llyn (lake) Mwyngil. It was extremely comfortable. We missed the evening meals, the hosts have a night off on Mondays, but we had fantastic breakfasts on a shared table with other guests. The hosts have a background in tourism, hospitality and catering, more of which can be read on their website, so the experience from a guests perspective was one of effortless quality; based on the hosts past experiences. If you make it there yourself, try the vegetarian black pudding! Oh and take your swimmers as there's a hot tub outside

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I agree with everything has already been said about this wonderful country guest house and would urge anyone considering a break in this area not to hesitate to book Dolffanog Fawr
Do not miss the evening meal. Top quality food prepared and presented in the way it should be with a wine list to match. It is a long time since I have enjoyed such consistently good food. The lovely lounge is a perfect place for pre and post dinner drinks with subtle background music to suit all tastes.
Having only stayed in larger hotels previously, I was a little concerned that I would find the atmosphere in a B&B claustrophobic and restricting, but how wrong I was.
Alex and Lorraine manage to be most welcoming hosts and yet the guests privacy is respected.
They have the knack of knowing when a little chat would be appreciated and when not.
We too enjoyed meeting the other like minded guests.
We will not hesitate to book a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Address: Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolffanog Fawr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.